Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Multiuser Security (A2000)

    I'm trying setup the security for multiuser by using the security wizard. I'll follow all the steps and set up the groups/users but then when I close the database and reopen, It doesn't prompt for users/passwords. What am i doing wrong? How do I get the database to prompt for a user and a password? In the wizard I setup one admin and two other users with passwords. I did set the database to be in shared mode through the options command. What is the crucial step that I am missing? Thanks in advance.

    -Youa

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    1,862
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    I'm not the security expert, but be sure that you've added at least one other user (besides "Admin") to the Admins group. Then REMOVE "Admin" from the Admins group. It should work then.

    Security drove me NUTS <img src=/S/nuts.gif border=0 alt=nuts width=15 height=15> the first time I tried to make it work!

    HTH <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    I'm going nuts here too. okay, i'll take a look at that. so the admins group will need at least two users. Didn't do that, i think. Did so much to it, I'm not even sure what I did now. Thanks! I'll try it.

    -Youa

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    If you followed the security wizard instructions to the tee, you shouldn't even be able to open the database unless you are connected to the correct workgroup file. (system.mdw) Let me suggest you take a look at <!post=this post.,67369>this post.<!/post>
    You might also want to visit this web page http://support.microsoft.com/support/acces...tent/secfaq.asp
    Wendell

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    Okay... I got the security to work but now I have to use it for every database that I open on this computer. What did I do wrong? Help. How do I apply the security to only one database?
    Thanks!
    -Youa

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    You didn't do anything wrong - if you only want one database to be secure, then you need to switch back to an unsecured system.mdw file. In other words, one with no password for the Admin account. You can use the Workgroup Administrator to do that. Another option is to use a shortcut which specifies the path to Access, the database you want to open, and the path to the workgroup file (system.mdw) using the command line switch /wrkgrp. I believe you can find the syntax in online help - at least you could in 97. If you need further explanation, post again.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    Thanks for the great tips! So is it safe to say that to avoid this problem from the beginning, I should've selected the option to use the security as a shortcut for that database and not for all databases used on that computer? I notice that when I select the shortcut option, it creates a copy of my database onto the desktop. When i opened the file from its original destination, it did not recognized the users I set up, but it worked on the shortcut. Does this mean that the copy of the new database is the one I need to start using? But then if thats the case, it seems to defeat the purpose of securing your database because here you have two copies: one secured, one not. Thanks!

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    Hi

    I hope that you don

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Multiuser Security (A2000)

    If all has gone according to plan, a user who tries to open the database when not connected to the secured MDW file will ge a message that says they do not have permission to open the database. If that isn't the case, then something has gone wrong in one of the steps for securing your database. As to the shortcut issue you mentioned, it should not have placed a copy of your database on the desktop. It should be just a shortcut with a path something like this:<font color=448800>
    "C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10MSACCESS.EXE" F:ClientsXXXXDBfolderMyDB.mdb /wrkgrp "F:ClientsXXXXDBfoldersystem.mdw"
    </font color=448800>
    (all that should be on one line)
    When you secure a database, the wizard creates a new database which is secured, and leaves your original untouched - just in case you forgot the password you just created, or some other equally horrible thing happens. Once you are satisfied that all is working fine, you can delete the original and only work in the secured version. Hope this clarifies things for you.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •