Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No MatchEntry property in Access combo boxes? (97/SR-2)

    This is another one of those seemingly simple, stupid questions.

    Apparently, there's no MatchEntry property in Access 97's combo boxes like you have in regular VB/VBA combo boxes.

    So how would you control the MatchEntry behavoir of the combo boxes in Access? What's crazy is that some of my Access combo boxes are behaving like frmMatchEntryComplete while others are behaving like frmMatchEntryFirstLetter, and I don't know why! (I want all the Access combo boxes to behave like frmMatchEntryComplete.)

    Thanks,

    Stephan

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Maidstone, Kent, England
    Posts
    398
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No MatchEntry property in Access combo boxes? (97/SR-2)

    Not sure what a MatchEntry property is <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    But try looking up "Limit to List" and "Auto Expand" in help.

    HTH

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No MatchEntry property in Access combo boxes? (97/SR-2)

    Thanks, it's the AutoExpand property I want -- this is analogous to the MatchEntry property in VB/VBA combo boxes. I love it when Microsoft doesn't make things consistent.

    Apparently, in my Access combo boxes which are exhibiting the aberrant AutoExpand behavoir, I have combo box Change event procedures, and when I rem'ed out the code, the AutoExpand behavoir of the combo boxes works fine -- although NOTHING in my code altered the AutoExpand property! Looks like I found another Microsoft bug.

    Thanks again for your reply,

    Stephan

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: No MatchEntry property in Access combo boxes? (97/SR-2)

    Access drop-down combo boxes are quite different from their cousins in VB. In general you don't want code running on the OnChange event - you want it to run on the AfterUpdate or NotInList events. It's actually one of the strongest features of Access, and has been virtually bug free in all of the releases.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No MatchEntry property in Access combo boxes? (97/SR-2)

    You forgot to mention that you don't have to move mountains to populate the lists in Access comboboxes, either. Just set the RowSource to the table or query name or a SQL Select statement and voila!
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: No MatchEntry property in Access combo boxes? (97/SR-2)

    Good point! We hardly ever work in VB because there is so much more work involved. We used to do it occasionally when we really needed real-time performance, but with the ADPs we can pretty well match VB performance in Access 2000/XP.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •