New Lounger
    Thanks

Form Fields (2000 SR1)

Help! Is there an easy way to enter text into a protected form field and to have the same text appear in other form fields in the same document? I am not a VBA expert!!

Help appreciated,

John

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Form Fields (2000 SR1)

You can write a macro to do this in the following way. It assumes that you want to copy the text entered in the first form field in the document to the second form field. You can adapt the numbers in the macro line below to your own needs.

Select Tools/Macro/Macros...
    Type a name in the Macro name box, for instance CopyValue
    You probably want this macro to be available in the current document only, so select the name of the document in the combo box below.
    Click Make (or Create - I am using the Dutch version of Word, so I do not know the exact caption in English)
    You are taken to the Visual Basic editor. Type
    ActiveDocument.Fields(2).Result = ActiveDocument.Fields(1).Result

That is all there is to creating a macro! Now we need to do something with it.

Switch back to Word (using the Windows Task Bar or Alt+Tab)
    Double click the first form field.
    Select the name of the macro you just created (CopyValue) in the Exit field combo box.
    Now protect your document for forms (Tools/Protect document...)
    Enter some text in the first form field and tab away from it. The text should be copied to the second form field.

New Lounger
    Thanks

Hi Hans, thanks for taking the time to reply. I did exactly as you said and created a macro called CopyText but when I entered text into the first field and 'tabbed' out I received the following:

Runtime Error '509'

The CopyText command is not available because the document is a protected document.