Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    When trying to synchronize my computer clock I get and error message, "Time sample rejected because the peer's stratum is less than the host's stratum". What the h... does that mean? It has worked before.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    Just tried it on my XP Pro system and got the same error. I had already changed to the Day Light Saving time, so it might be related to this.

    I reset the time and tried again and got the same problem. We are NOT going to be alone on this one <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by WyllyWylly on 07-Apr-02 18:34.</P>Agreed, I first tried it before the time change and again today after the time change. I also pinged time.nist.gov and got a good reply. NIST is the National Institue of Standards and Technology. I went to their time page on their Web site (http://nist.time.gov/) and found the time working there. I am only about 20 miles from NIST but I guess I am not on the same "Stratum" <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    Some infor here:
    hoslap.com

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by WyllyWylly on 08-Apr-02 09:56.</P>Great article. You can find all the NIST time severs at http://www.boulder.nist.gov/timefreq/servi...me-servers.html. I picked another server and it works perfectly for me now.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    This has been happening to me with XP Pro, but I only realised it was a problem because my system clock appears to stop from time to time.

    I leave my machine on most times I'm at home and have an always-on cable modem connection to the Internet with ZoneAlarm acting as a firewall. Several times, after long stints at the keyboard, or returning to the machine in the morning after leaving it on all night, I've noticed that the clock has stopped at anything up to 12 or 15 hours before. (I have the task bar set to auto-hide so I don't notice it immediately.)

    Trying to update the time by sychronising with one of the Internet Time Servers brings the error message about the "Peer's Stratum" if the clock stopped at, say, Saturday at 23:00 and I'm trying to synchronise on Sunday morning. If I change the date and manually amend the time to something close to what it should be, the synchronisation process will fine tune it accurately.

    I'm trying to find out what it is that's causing my clock to stop but, so far, no luck. One thing I have noticed, however, that may or may not be significant, is that after a failed attempt to synchronise the time, my ZoneAlarm firewall brings the shutters down and prevents any internet activity until I manually take off the lock.

    Does anyone have any suggestions...?
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Leesburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Time (Window XP Pro)

    There is some great info on computer clocks and time in the the link that Leif left me in this thread.
    I changed my time server that has seemed and fixed my problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •