Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Naperville, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Graph / Runtime Access 97 (runtime 97)

    I have inherited an application that was developed in Access 97 and distributed with the Run time Access. In one part of the program, a graph is created within a report. A client has moved to a new computer that has WIndows 2000 / Office 2000 on it and now the graph doesn't display. The rest of the program works ok. To replicated the problem, I set up a Windows 98 program with no Office Suite. Program run & graphs. I then installed Office 97 and the program runs & graphs. I upgraded the suite to Office 2000 and the program still runs but doesn't graph. I installed Access 97 and set the path to its subdirectory but still used the run time version. Still runs but doesn't graph.

    Does anyone have any ideas? Some properties in the report form:
    OLEClass Microsoft Graph 97 Chart
    OLEType - embedded
    Class - Microsoft.chart.8

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Graph / Runtime Access 97 (runtime 97)

    We use graphs in our commercial Access 97 products and haven't had any problems like this with Office 2000. Graph9 seems to be highly compatible with Graph8. Did you check the references in your Access application to make sure you still have a valid reference to MSGraph? Also, the Office 2000 setup is quite different from previous versions. Did you actually install the latest version of MSGraph in the Office setup?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Naperville, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graph / Runtime Access 97 (runtime 97)

    Charlotte,
    I did a file search on graph*.* and it found a graph9.exe and a graph8.exe listed ( the application provided graph8.exe on installation [at least it is in sub-directory under the application's directory]) . I also set up a separate program in Access 97 with a simple chart in it and it displays fine. The original application program was working before I upgraded to Office 2000 but stopped graphing after the update. I didn't change the program at all.

    I looked at the Office 2000 installation and Microsoft Graph is marked as "run from my computer". I clicked on it again but made no difference.

    To complicate things, the developer had created a separate Workgroup. In Access97 / Office 97, I can joined it and then open the program in a database mode. In the Office 200 enviromnent, I seem to successfully join the workgroup but when I try to access the report that has the chart, I get a 'you don't have permmission' message. Since I haven't worked with this before I will need to check out why I can't seem to get the permissions I need on Office 2000 while I do in Office 97.

    I appreciate your help and regard this as a temendous learning opportunity!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Graph / Runtime Access 97 (runtime 97)

    I don't believe you can use the same mdw file for Access 2000 that you used for Access 97. If I remember correctly, the structure of the file changed between versions. Graph9.exe should work with Access 97, and in fact, I've used it that way on a machine with both 97 and 2000 installed.

    It isn't clear to me what you're having a problem with. Is it that you can use graph in 97 but you can't open the 97 database in 2000 and use graph? If so, why are you trying to do that anyhow?
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Naperville, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Graph / Runtime Access 97 (runtime 97)

    I want the original application (which is a Access 97 runtime app that uses the graph capability) to run on a computer that has Office 2000 loaded on it. I am not using Access 2000 or changing any the application in any way.

    So far, I have put this on three computers where it doesn't work right. The application will run okay except in the report that displays the chart (graph), the actual chart doesn't display. The area within the report is blank. This application runs (graphs) fine in Office 97 enviornments. For some reason when I install this app on a computer that has Office 2000 it no longer graphs, otherwise it seems to run fine.

    It seems to me that somehow the graph program is called different in Office 2000 environments. On one computer, I started without any Office suite installed and it worked. I then added Office 97 and it graphed. When I upgraded the Office97 to Office 2000 (and changing nothing else), it stopped graphing.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Graph / Runtime Access 97 (runtime 97)

    Office 2000 uses Graph9.exe, while Office 97 used Graph8.exe. Depending on how your Office 2000 installations were done, it is likely that the later version of Graph was installed, breaking the Access 97 runtime app.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •