Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hyperlink / Bookmarks (2000)

    When a hyperlink is inserted, or, a file is bookmarked, the link is saved somewhere. We routinely
    give older computers to new users. How do I delete the links in the dialog box ? The same
    question for almost any Office 2000 program (Excel, Access etc.).
    Thanks in advance for your time.

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    St. George, Maine, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Hyperlink / Bookmarks (2000)

    Hi,
    The Insert/Hyperlink dialog box appears to get the list of URL's from the registry:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Microsoft/InternetExplorer/typedURLs

    These can probably be cleared via IE through:
    Tools/Internet Oprions and the General Tab and simply Clear History

    I have not confirmed as I do not want my history cleared.

    Good luck,

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Hyperlink / Bookmarks (2000)

    Hi Nucthat1 & Bob:
    There are actually 3 sources. When you open the Insert/Hyperlink dialog box, you have 3 lists. Assuming you installed your applications & windows on drive C, you will find:
    1. Recent Files
    These are found under C:WINDOWSApplication DataMicrosoftOfficeRecent

    2. Browsed Pages
    These are found under C:WINDOWSHistory There may be a registry entry also, but I'm not sure. However, you can delete this from IE or the Control Panel by going to Tools/Internet Options/General tab & pressing Clear History (& confirming). You can also go into DOS & delete the Index.dat file, I believe.

    3. Inserted links
    These are found in the registry at
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorertypedURLs

    You can delete the first numbered one & then none of them will show up. However, I haven't tested whether the non deleted ones will reappear once you enter a "new" #1 typed URL.

    Hope this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •