Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DOS (XP Pro)

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DOS (XP Pro)

    Can I run a DOS program in XP pro ? How ?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DOS (XP Pro)

    You can, provided it doesn't directly access the system hardware. If you create a shortcut to it, you will then have a PIF, or Program Information File, which you can modify the properties of (memory, font, screen, etc).

    Not all DOS programs will run under XP, but I have used several without a problem.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DOS (XP Pro)

    Can you walk me through the procedure?
    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DOS (XP Pro)

    Press Windows and R keys on your keyboard simultaneously. Type
    cmd
    and hit Enter. You will see good, old DOS (in fact, an emulation of DOS) in the window. Use it as a regular DOS prompt.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DOS (XP Pro)

    To create a shortcut to the DOS program, right-click in an empty area of your desktop (or an open Explorer window) and select New -- Shortcut. Browse to the program (batch file, etc) and select it. Complete the wizard and you will then have your PIF that can be modified.

    Typically the default settings work fairly well, but there are times when you need to specify memory settings - such as Environment Space, XMS, and other options - these are all dependent upon the program you are running. If you need to modify them after the fact, right-click on the shortcut and select Properties.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DOS (XP Pro)

    Thanks Mark... works great now. I guess you just need to know how.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •