Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Firewall (Pro)

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Nova Scotia,Canada
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firewall (Pro)

    Is there information on how to configure the firewall to accept file transfers through ICQ?
    Or do I turn it off and install Zonealarm.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    I do NOT use the MS firewall that came with Windows XP. It was one of the problems that we were having during beta, so I have always turned it off and used ZoneAlarm. The MS firewall will keep others out but will do nothing about programs going out from your computer.

    To answer your question, YES, and get ZoneAlarm. The free version is ALL you need.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MPLS/St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Have you seen any problems between ZoneAlarm and the WinXP firewall? Do they get along? The mix I'm working on creating is going to have the WinXP firewall, Zone Lab Integrity Agent, and the firewall included with PC-cillin 2002. I hope these three don't crash into eachother and explode <img src=/S/burnup.gif border=0 alt=burnup width=31 height=31>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    You're inviting disaster if you try to run multiple firewalls at the same time. Pick one product to do the job of protecting your connection. XP's firewall is effective but difficult to configure, and with free downloads of ZoneAlarm and a few others it's usually better to get something more full-featured. More firewalls running concurrently does not make you any safer, if you pick one that does the job well.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MPLS/St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Great advice! Many feel that more firewalls add increased value. I like to hear that. My ultimate aim is to have only the Intergrity Agent running. Thank You!

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Hey Dave, from your experience, how well does the ZA firewall work w/ XPP & its requirement of resources? Is it really necessary for dial-up (in your opinion)?

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    As an experienced user of XPP:
    built-in firewall not 100% safe. As DaveA mentioned, it will not stop spyware dialling out, so will not protect you from trojan penetration.
    Zone Alarm for me has worked impeccably with XPP, as long as the built-in one is disabled, and AdAware, SpyCheck, etc etc.
    Resources are not an issue (why would they be?) : mine runs permanently in the background (except when playing Dark Age of Camelot), does its job properly and is free for personal, non-commercial use.
    Can be used in conjunction with Zone Log Analyser to identify and report persistent offenders against your security measures. ZLA is not free, but not expensive either.
    Zone Alarm can be upgraded to Zone Alarm Pro : for which you pay. This has more features and is more configurable - probably not required in the home context.

    I'm not sure what more you'd want to know Bruce. Naturally, it's necessary for a dial-up connection, just more so for bb. You would know this if you'd taken previous advice and read the 'Attack and Defence' page on my website.

    'Course there's always BlackIce if spending money makes you feel any safer.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    I have NOT had any problems whith ZA and our 4 computers running XP, 3 Pro and 1 Home.
    As for firewall on a dial up, if you are on the internet you need a firewall. It is just like unprotected sex, you do not know what will happen.

    As for running more than one firewall, remember that that MORE is not always better <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>. The same goes for Virus protection, some programs will fight each other and think that the other is a virus.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Greetings, MerC and thanx for your input.

    I have been a frequent visitor to your site long before I came to the lounge and refer to 'Attack & Defence' periodically and pretty familiar with the contents contained therein. I must apologize for not making myself clear previously. I do know that a firewall is essential. I am using the XP firewall but was curious if ZA had something to offer for dial-up that the resident firewall could not. I was under the impression ZA was more geared for Bb and felt what I was currently using was sufficient as dial-up is typically less susceptible to attack. Please disabuse me of this notion if this line of thought is off base.

    Do you suggest AdAware not be functioning while ZA is running?

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Merc,

    My curiosity has gotten the best of me. What is bb?

    Secondly, I use a LinkSys router that has a built in firewall from Zone Labs and it still recommends that I use and run ZoneAlarm Pro with it. Maybe it didn
    H Lewton

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    <hr>
    My curiosity has gotten the best of me. What is bb?
    <hr>

    Broadband. A cable or dsl connection.

    Dial-up is "less susceptible" to intrusions only because one is typically not connected to the internet non-stop (as you are with cable/dsl). The attacks are still coming. Just the probablility of an attack in any given 10 minute/half-hour stretch is smaller than the probablilty of an attack in 24 hours.

    I used BlackICE until installing XP. The built in firewall seems friendlier to internet connection sharing (if you have a home network and are using one cable connection for all machines). So I've removed BlackICE.

    Both BlackICE and XP-Firewall use a technology called Stateful Packet Inspection. Neither blocks outgoing access to the net.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Guy,

    I used to use Blackice too before I switched to ZoneAlarm. Every time I would install an update I would have to run "repair" on Blackice to get it to function again. That was with Win 98SE. Never did try it with XP because of that quirk.

    Thanks for the bb answer. I couldn't come up with that but I should have known.
    H Lewton

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Oops.Sorry - thought the abbreviation was standard.

    I have a feeling the LinkSys router firewall is a hardware solution, and that software would be added protection. Just a guess.

    There is one BIG disadvantage with XP's firewall and it will bear repetition : it does NOT stop outgoing attacks. Thus if a trojan drops spyware on to your system, you are unprotected. Zone Alarm protects in both directions, and for home use is an ideal solution.

    Thanks for using my site Bruce. AdAware works perfectly well with ZA in place. The two are rather different in function. Spyware can get into your machine in a variety of ways, some of which require your collusion and therefore would not be picked up by ZA. AdAware provides a means of identifying known menaces and eliminating them. Be warned, though that some progs (e.g Go!Zilla free version) will stop working if you remove their parasites.
    Rgds

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    Merc,

    Thanks, bb probably is standard. I just couldn't come up with it.

    The out-going protection that ZA offers is one of the reasons I switched to it about a year ago.
    H Lewton

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewall (Pro)

    <hr>Just the probablility of an attack in any given 10 minute/half-hour stretch is smaller than the probablilty of an attack in 24 hours.<hr>
    True, but nonetheless, one evening I received over 75 attacks (all stopped by ZA) on a dial-up in just over 25 minutes - all from countries known to not like the Western lifestyle.
    Ed
    "Somebody left the cork out of my lunch." - W. C. Fields

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •