Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Detecting Primary Slave Hard Disk (XP)

    I moved a 2.1GB HD from the slave of a Win98se machine to the slave of a XP machine. I could not see this slave drive on the Windows Explorer of WinXP machine. However, the BIOS of WinXP machine did detect this disk as Primary Slave on booting.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Detecting Primary Slave Hard Disk (XP)

    Does it show up at all in Device Manager?
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Detecting Primary Slave Hard Disk (XP)

    No. The Device Manager shows only one disk driver, the 40GB Primary.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Detecting Primary Slave Hard Disk (XP)

    SparkyPatric,

    Thanks for your clue. XP found the Slave HD after I ran the Add Hardware Wizard. Hmm..., it seems that XP does not detect new device automatically.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Detecting Primary Slave Hard Disk (XP)

    Glad it worked out in the end <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>. Maybe it being an old drive (judging by the size) made it harder to recognise.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Detecting Primary Slave Hard Disk (XP)

    My conclusion is this 2.1GB JTS IDE disk is too old for the XP. Though it was detected by the Adding Device Wizard, XP still could not detect this device on restarting. So, I put in another big, relatively bigger, 4.3 Seagate disk as the slave drive for testing. XP had no problem in detecting this newer, relatively newer, hard disk.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •