Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    updating charts (2000 SR1)

    When I enter information into my spreadsheet it does not automatically update the charts.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Reading/Swindon, Berkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updating charts (2000 SR1)

    There's just a chance you may have to supply us with a little more information on this one, but to begin with, if you right click on the graph and select source data, do the ranges for each series actually cover the area you are entering data into? In other words, are you overtyping/updating data that is already displayed or adding new data at the end of a range?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updating charts (2000 SR1)

    According to what your telling me the source data has to be manually extendeded beyond the row number that I am entering data into. I was under the assumption that when I entered data into a row it would automatically add that row to the source data, please respond.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Reading/Swindon, Berkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updating charts (2000 SR1)

    Even when (in 2K, this didn't exist in 97, I assume it's still there in XP) Tools:Options:Edit:Extend List Formats and Formulas is turned on, I have always had to manually extend graph ranges if I exceed the boundaries of the range - I don't think this option applies to graphs though I may be wrong. You can get round this in certain cases by inserting new rows/columns into that range and then making sure that all formulae are copied down across the new rows/columns.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updating charts (2000 SR1)

    Thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updating charts (2000 SR1)

    No, the chart can be set up to dynamically include new data as it is added. Check HERE for a procedure that explains how to do it.
    Legare Coleman

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Reading/Swindon, Berkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: updating charts (2000 SR1)

    Well caught Legare. I use dynamic ranges with Pivot Tables all the time, but it never even crossed my mind to use them with graphs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •