4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Math problem (Office XP)

Having problems doing a simple math problem. How many sold from how many shipped to show how many remaining.
    I have a master table to record the sales to different clients.

Table dbtask:
    Record 23 - Client ABC, sold 500 bolts. Date, time, name

Table Area Data:
    In detail table I record the details of the sale
    Record 23 - Store 1 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 30
    Store 2 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 20
    Store 3 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 10
    Store 4 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 0
    Store 5 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 0

I have a query that has two tables; 1. Dbtask 2,Area Data
    From dbtask, I use field A (record number) and field ak - amount sold (100)

From the second table I use field Done (shipped out). Where total: = SUM. The other two total fields are Group by. I want to add another field in Area Data table that will how how many are still left to ship for each store.

I need a new field in the query that will show me how many I have to ship for each store
    Store 1 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 30 70
    Store 2 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 20 80
    Store 3 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 10 90
    Store 4 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 0 100
    Store 5 # to deliver 100 Shipped out 0 100

What I want is out of the 900 sold to the Client I have shipped only 60. So I still need to ship 440

Form to show:
    Client Sold Shipped Still to be shipped
    ABC 900 60 440

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Math problem (Office XP)

If 60 from 900 leaves 440, you *do* have a problem with math <g>

Why do you want to store the numbers still to be shipped in a table field? In general, storing calculated values in a table is a recipe for headache. (There are some exceptions, I know...) Usually, it is enough to do the calculations in a query and use that as a record source for forms or reports.