New Lounger
    Thanks

My Spreadsheet is HUGE!!! HELP (97)

Hi all,

I ran some great code to perform an autofilter for a really big spreadsheet (see this post: Code/Macro to make new worksheet (97))
    Post And saved parts of the results in seperate workbooks, now what has happened is the my spreadsheets are HUGE.
    Example I have one that has about 350 rows, and it is 2559kb. These workbooks are slowing down my system, and can't send more than two of them to someone via e-mail.

I can't understand why this spreadsheet is as big as it is, does it have something to do w/ the code (I'm stumped).

If it is the code, can I compress it somehow.

This is a true bummber because people are waiting for this info, and need to get this resolved as soon as possible.

As always, and suggestions, advise, expertise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: My Spreadsheet is HUGE!!! HELP (97)

I'm not an Excel expert but have a look at this thread
    Francois

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

I'll just repeat some of the advice that's been given me. Maybe something here will help you a bit....

1 - Refrain from applying formatting to entire rows or columns. For example, why would you apply the bold format to column A if you were only going to use the first 100 cells?

2 - When you delete or clear unused columns and rows that extend beyond the boundaries of your work, <font color=blue> Save</font color=blue> the change immediately to reduce the size of the workbook.

3 - Most everyone who writes code will use blank lines, comments and line indents. All of this is useful and customary as it makes it simpler to edit, read and understand. There is a little <font color=blue>code cleaner</font color=blue> program on one of the excel sites that will eliminate everything from the code that isn't necessary. Obviously this will trim the size of the file but I found it to be the least effective of the three noted here.