Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    If I follow these steps, I am not able to remove shading from text in Word:
    - type some generic info across multiple lines (tab delimited or whatever)
    - highlight one line of the info and go to Format, Borders and Shading, and apply shading to the selection
    - highlight all of the info and convert to a table.
    - as long as the shading was applied to all of the text that fits within a given cell, there is not a way that I can find to remove that shading once the info is in table format. <img src=/S/meltdown.gif border=0 alt=meltdown width=15 height=15>

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    Apply no shading to the *text*, not the cell or table. Try that.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    Yeah, it won't let me. Unless I apply shading to one or two words in the middle of where the cell or table breaks would be. Then I can remove it.

    Example - (brown represents shading) in the first table I wouldn't be able to remove the shading, in the second one I would.
    <table border=1><td>lots</td><td><font color=d2691e>of</font color=d2691e></td><td>fun</td></table>

    <table border=1><td>lots <font color=d2691e>of</font color=d2691e> fun</td><td>tons <font color=d2691e>of</font color=d2691e> fun</td><td>scads <font color=d2691e>of</font color=d2691e> fun</td></table>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    Humm. I just selected the text that would not previously un-shade, then selected Apply to Text, and None for the shading and it unshaded fine.

    So, I guess you have to re-select the shaded part in order to unshade it. Makes sense. However, it does not make sense that applying shading to the entire cell or table does not unshade the previously shaded text -- even if you select the entire cell or table. That seems inconsistent to me and should get *bug* labeled to it. I'm using Word 97, BTW.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    This is a picture of what Kevin is saying:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    Maybe in a future version, the drop-down will include "All objects in the selection, just like you always thought it should work."

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    Jeffeson: yo da man!
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: could it be a shading bug? (2000 SR1)

    Yep, that worked. Now that I see it, it does make sense, but I agree that the default behavior should be changed! I guess I don't feel TOO stupid, though, as the solution is a little obscure. Thanks so much!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •