Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    Hi to the Word Experts,

    We use Lotus Domino.doc to store Word templates and documents. When we access them through Internet Explorer 5.5 (the easiest tool to use here) a viewing window opens with the document in a Word screen, but without the menu and toolbars. This makes saving the document outside domino.doc for normal usage non intuitive and difficult.

    We have managed to get the toolbars to appear by including in an AutoExec macro in normal.dot the following statements:

    CommandBars("Menu Bar").Visible = True
    CommandBars("Standard").Visible = True
    CommandBars("Formatting").Visible = True

    But we are still unable to get the menu to appear.

    Any suggestions as to how we can get this essential component of our Word screen to appear?

    Peter Moran

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    If you are viewing such a document and pop up the VB Editor with Alt+F11 and run the following macro, what do you get in the Immediate window?

    Sub WhereIsMenuBar()
    Dim cbar As CommandBar
    Set cbar = CommandBars("Menu Bar")
    Debug.Print cbar.Name, cbar.Visible, cbar.Position, cbar.RowIndex, cbar.Left
    Set cbar = Nothing
    End Sub

    Is Visible still False and, if not, where the heck is the menu bar?

    Maybe Lotus has an article on this on its support site.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    Jefferson,

    Thanks for your quick reply.

    I have tried as you suggested, in both normal Word, and Word initiated thru IE, and both ways I get the same result from running your macro:

    Menu Bar True 1 1 0

    but under IE as always you can't see the Menu, and if you remove the toolbars the menu is not present. However it is present in the "normal" Word, .

    It almost seems as if its loaded under the title line.

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    Jefferson,

    I have already sounded out the Lotus Domino.doc forum this morning, but no luck there as yet!

    Thanks again!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    How about executing this in the Immediate window:

    CommandBars("Menu Bar").Position = msoBarFloating

    Not the optimal position, but as a temporary workaround...does it work?

    I wonder if there is a way to load a toolbar you don't really care about "above" the menu bar in the apparently inaccessible space. It probably has something to do with RowPosition; there was a thread on this a while ago that got kind of involved...

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    Edited: <!t><!/t> and <!t><!/t> tags added around the URL to make the link live. -Mod.

    Jefferson,

    Tried your suggestion but no effect - no menu.

    The following Microsoft KB article is being investigated:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...b;en-us;Q162059

    This document says that the documents are actually still in Internet Explorer when they are opened - this is reinforced by the icons visible when Alt+Tab is used - the relevant icon is an Internet Explorer icon not a Word Icon. Hence possibly, no Word menu!

    Thanks again for your assistance, and will add our results, if we are successful!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Making the Word Menu appear! (W97)

    Duh. I turned off "browse in same window" so long ago that I lost awareness of this problem. Glad you found a solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •