Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Networking: Hub vs Switch

    Hi,

    I'm setting up a network in my home office: 3 PC's and a printer with WIN98SE. I need to use a hub, but someone told me that a switch is better, but she really didn't know why.

    Switches are more expensive. Can anyone tell me for a simple home office setup whether I should spend more money on a switch, and if so, why?

    Thanks

    Claudia.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    With 3 PC's I would use a Router, which would allow you to share a DSL line or a Cable modem with all of the pc's. Also this would be a 'Hardware' firewall and I would also run ZoneAlarm 'Software' firewall.
    This router runs about $150 to $180 US, just watch for sales at CompUSA. This cost is money WELL spent.
    Hope this helps.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    A hub lets everyone connect using a single shared ethernet backbone for all connections. The backbone typically runs at 100 Mhz, or 10Mhz on very inexpensive hubs.

    A switch provides a dedicated full speed 10/100 autosense full speed switched ethernet link for each connection. The backbone is typically capable of handling 200-400Mhz concurrently.

    Sort of like the difference between Cable and DSL modems.

    The new routers combine the speed of the switch plus integrated Cable/DSL modem internet sharing with NAT firewall, 4 to 7 switched ethernet ports, and, in some cases a parallel port for shared printer. In other words, almost everything a home/small business network needs to get started.

    Read PC Magazine's Review of the new MaxGate UGate 3200P Router/Switch for an example of a top of the line SOHO router.
    http://cgi.zdnet.com/slink?80114:10288810
    PS: I have not used this one. Example only.

    Lots more available. See Computer Shopper for loads of options and competitive pricing.
    http://www.zdnet.com/computershopper/filte.../0,,114,00.html

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    A hub and a switch... lets say you have a huge network, and I have two computers talking to each other. If I were on a hub, the entire network would see my traffic. If I was on a switch, the switch would keep the traffic internal. for a home user, it doesn't matter until you get into DSL or cable whereas like they said, a router is your best bet.

    I have 8 computers and 2 DSL circuits. I have a router with, Like the two gentlemen said, handle my NAT, firewall, etc. Linksys 4 or 8 port are fabulous and the firewall is fantastic.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  5. #5
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    Mike:
    How did you set up the routing for the second DSL link?

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    Hey Ian,

    I actually have 2 routers and in the settings, i can static route them together thru the net and I have WINS and DNS servers between them, so its like a mini WAN
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  7. #7
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    Nice.
    That also gives you some redundancy on the connections.

    "The only difference between men and boys, is thats men's toys get more expensive."

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Networking: Hub vs Switch

    Thanks to everyone who has replied to my question.

    I decided to use a switch and it seems to be working OK.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •