New Lounger
    Thanks

Win2K Server Licenses for IIS?

Greetings,

I'm sure this has been asked before but after reading previous posts and the
    MS site I am still confused.

I wish to purchase a Dell PowerEdge 1400SC with Windows 2000 Server to host
    a SharePoint Team Services site using MSDE. One company will host the site,
    but users are from different companies and access the site from their
    corporate network and from the internet (from home). Many users use
    Netscape, so Integrated Auth is out (so I'm told).

What type of license, if any, do I need to purchase (CAL or ICL)? The Dell
    comes with 5 CALS.

TIA...

Thanks

Re: Win2K Server Licenses for IIS?

This is one of those topics that makes me wish I could say "I am not a lawyer." But, in fact, I am.

According to Windows 2000 Client Access Licensing Overview, you need a CAL "for each client computer that is used by an authenticated user or that uses Windows 2000 Server Services." This breaks down as follows:

Authenticated User
    "An authenticated user is one who directly or indirectly uses the Windows 2000 Server Integrated Sign-on Service or receives credentials from the Windows 2000 Active Directory service." If your application does not use Windows authentication at all, then CALs are not needed: "Access to Internet sites by anonymous users does not require a CAL."

Server Services
    If you run File, Print or Terminal services on the server, or if users can RAS to the server, then CALs are required. I do not believe that this applies to, for example, accessing files through a web interface supplied by IIS, but instead refers to the traditional file and print services. Otherwise, all anonymous FTP sites would need CALs.

For "internal" users, the same principles apply, according to Internet Connector Licensing FAQ:
    <hr>Q. What about anonymous Intranet applications?