Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    Have you tried removing / uninstalling the monitor and rebooting to let Windows set it up ?? Although, removing the monitor while the system is up and running might be problematic.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    Thanks for the suggestion. Let me add one little piece of info that I assumed: This is a laptop/notebook computer.

    The ONLY choice I have (really) is 800 x 600. I CAN choose 1024x, but it doesn't change the screen size, only allow scrolling TO that size. Not the solution I'm looking for!!

    Sonys "HELP", only allows for 800x in the setup provided.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sony Viao F520 Video

    I have a Sony VIAO F520 (this added: NOTEBOOK) now running Win2000. It came with '98 on it. It would seem that I can only run 800x600 resolution. Higher than that, and the screen scrolls. Sony's only solution to date is "scroll or don't".

    It uses a NeoMagic driver, best that I can tell. Does anyone have any guesses on how to get up to 1024 x 768? Maybe by substituting another driver?

    Any responses would be appreciated. Don't know where else to look or ask. Not sure this is the right place either, but I know WOPR folks are bright and willing to try. I've gotten no help at Sony's site or their forums.

    Thanks much!

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    That does change things, eh ?? I'd bet that you're up against a physical limitation that you can't circumvent. I encountered this issue when I first moved up to a 17" monitor and began seeing things at higher resolutions that weren't even displayed on a 15" monitor at lower resolutions (couldn't even scroll to them). Perhaps the smaller screen on a laptop has similar limitations.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    Desktop > Properties > Settings.
    There should be some things you can play around with in there, but these are likely to be dependent on your driver.
    I've come across some quirks before, such as monitor resolution being limited by refresh rate and number of colours used etc. You may strike lucky.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by WyllyWylly on 08-May-02 11:50.</P>While that is certainly a possibility, I can't believe that a PC only 1-1/2 yrs old wouldn't be able to show that resolution.

    I'd swear that when '98 was on it that I had 1024, but I'm not about to wipe 2000 just to find out!!

    The other side is that sonys site says it wasn't available, regardless.
    http://ciscweb.sel.sony.com/scripts/web_ac...amp;SOL_ID=5866

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    "I can't believe that a PC only 1-1/2 yrs old"
    But it's not really a PC. It's a Notebook / Laptop. A horse of a different color, or at least a different hue. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video


  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    From the Device Manager - Is the Monitor set as Digital Flat Panel with 1024 x 768 resolution?

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    FWIW with a Sony F709 bought in Sept 2000, I have the same problem in reverse.

    The max built-in res for W98 (the shipping OS) is 800 x 600; whereas Win2K has 1024 x 768. The only way of going one further step up is to use an external monitor - as you probably are aware.

    You might want to look at installing a dual boot. This will allow you to access your data under both resolutions (as both Operating Systems will be installed) - although you should probably set aside a generous amount of set-up time. If you do a Lounge search on the words "install dual boot", you should probably find quite a lot of material. HTH
    Gre

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    I've considered the alternate monitor, although it makes travel difficult! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Sony Viao F520 Video

    Take out a line of credit and buy a 1024x768 LCD projector: it will do double duty for presentations and, pointed at your wall, as a huge monitor. I recently bought the Sony VPL-CX4 for the office and it's incredibly small, light, and bright. And it's a pretty good value, even with the brand name. For more info, see the product web page, the PDF brochure, and/or pricing at TechStore (the vendor I used).

    I have no financial interest in Sony, but we do a bit of patent work for part of the company. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •