Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    I created couple of macros where I assigned them to a menu. When I copied the template from one pc to another, it did not get the menu. I want to know what more should I do to copy also the menu. The sort cut menu did get copied, but not the main menu.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Burlington, KS, USA
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    When you assigned the macros to a menu, is it possible that you saved the changes in Normal.dot, rather than in the template? There is a drop-down box at the bottom of the Customize dialog to select where the changes are being stored. If the changes were saved in the Normal.dot, then the macros would have copied with the template to the other PC, but the menu assignments would not have.
    The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the position or opinion of WCNOC.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    If I save the change in normal.dot and copy it to another computer. Should that replace normal.dot from the other computer. I assume, I want to update normal.dot from the other computer, not replace. If I replace it, about macros that were already in normal.dot are there going to get deleted?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    If you stored your customizations in your template, they should be computer independent. Are you sure that you stored the changes in the template rather than in normal.dot. It is very easy to store things in normal.dot by mistake. If the customizations are stored in normal.dot, they should be present whether or not your template is loaded.

    Also, moving and copying customizations to built-in toolbars is very difficult. Generally, I do all customizations on a custom toolbar and then copy them from that toolbar to the built-in menus. The custom toolbar is easily copied.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    I did not store them in normal.dot. I store them in another template. I want to know if I copy normal.dot from one computer to anothere, will that erase any macro stored in normal.dot in the second computer.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    If you copy one normal.dot(1) over the top of another normal.dot(2) anything stored in normal.dot(2) is gone.

    Take a look at Sharing Customizations for instructions and information on sharing / copying / moving customizations including macros, AutoText, Toolbars and menus, and key assignments.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    As far as I understand, it seems like when I assigned the macro to the menu, I did not do it in normal.dot. I have been told if I did it in normal.dot, I would not have any problem. Am I correct?

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Assign Macro to Menu (2000)

    Please take a look at my first answer to you.

    I can't tell you whether you would prefer to have stored your macro or a toolbar assignment in normal.dot anymore than I can tell you whether you would be happier with a red car or a blue car.

    Generally, things to be used with documents that are generated from a particular document template are best stored in that template.

    Things that will be used in most documents should be stored in a global template. I prefer to store mine in a global template other than normal.dot. It makes them much easier to move / share but makes them harder to change.

    You do not want to be making unasked-for changes to someone else's normal.dot. At least not unless you would feel equally free searching through their desk drawers or purses / coat pockets. Normal.dot is designed for personal use and you can mess up someone else's work very easily doing this.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •