Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    Ive had problems with MSIE 5.5 & 6 in that Ive lost the option to EDIT web pages using the smaller version of MS Front Page Express previously packaged with MSIE. Once I inserted the disc of MS Front Page 2000 it removed the FP Express option from the browser even though I was working from the disc (not installed on hard drive). Anyone out there who has solved this problem? Perhaps MSIE 6 doesnt come with MS FP Express anymore, can anyone tell me? Many thanks, this forum is great.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    I am not sure of what your question is but this is what I have done in a related matter.

    I do NOT use Front Page but I was able to change the "View Source" to HomeSite, by changing the program in Tweakui, under the Internet Explorer and then View Source.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    Hi DaveA, thanks for the reply, forgive me being a dimwit but I either dont have Tweakui or cant find it. Is it an add on program like Tweakit? Under View in MSIE I only have the option to view in notepad or Front Page. Appreciate you trying to help.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    Amend previous message Dave, Ive just located tweakui on cnet, have downloaded, will have a looksee and try to follow your advice, once again many thanks.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    Hi Guy
    stick around a bit and you'll find my website useful. It's meant for Loungers. All freeware, and absolutely non-commercial. TweakUi is available there in all its manifestations.
    If you (or anyone else) finds a bit of genuine freeware that is not there, please let me know.

    Click My Sig #3

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    There are several issues that I can see here:

    1) Is FrontPage Express actually installed? (I suspect yes...)
    2) Do you want FPE to be the Default HTML Editor?
    3) Do you want FPE to be the "View Source" HTML Editor? (this is different than above)
    4) Do you want something else to be the Default HTML Editor, but want to have the option to use FPE as an HTML editor also?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    Yes I installed FP 2000, then realized it removed FPExpress as an edit option, Ive since uninstalled Front Page 2000 but now am stuck with no other edit option other than notepad, in reply YES Id love to be able to have the option of FPE back again, but dont know how. Ive upgraded from MSIE 5.5 to 6 but still no FPE. <img src=/S/butterfly.gif border=0 alt=butterfly width=15 height=15> Thanks for trying to help.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Edit option in MSIE (MSIE 6)

    So, you just want FPExpress to be the second option under the Edit button, correct?

    First, Search your hard drive for a file named fpxpress.exe. Make sure that still exists and write donw the path to the file. Double-click it to make sure it still works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •