Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Acquiring images (2000)

    I would dearly love to store scanned docs in an Access Db. Storing images seems to add more than a meg for each image, over and above the image size. Storing the image address is no good as I need to link images with client
    Regards,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    Storing images in an Access database is definitely not a good idea. Whatever the original image format was, Access always stores an uncompressed bitmap image, I think. As you noticed, it causes humongous database bloat.
    If you design a good naming/numbering scheme, you can store your images in a hierarchical folder structure, and only store codes in your database from which you can reconstruct the path and file name of the images. I have one database that works with thousands of images this way. The database itself is between 1 and 2 MB only.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    Still doesn
    Regards,
    Peter

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    I suspect this is more that what you are looking for, but we have used a product called Alchemy from Information Management Research to actually do an imaging solution integrated with Access. We currently have about a million documents that are linked to some 80,000 people. The scanning itself is also driven from Access, and there is OCR activity to create automated links. However it is a fairly high-end document imaging and retrieval system, both in function and in cost. Another much simpler product that I believe actually uses an Access database is a small photo organizer that came with my Sony laptop. It gives you some basic capability, but doesn't appear to store the images in the database.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    I never cease to be amazed at the depth of
    Regards,
    Peter

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    I think the Sony app is a run-time app that probably uses Jet 3.0 or 3.5 to store image info, but not the image itself. There is an mdb file associated with it, at least it's in the same folder chain as the app. I suspect there may be some free or share ware with similar capabilities. There's a company called ACD Systems that has several products they sell for a reasonable fee as well they can be reached at http://www.acdsystems.com - I have no idea what technology is behind their products, but I have used some of them pretty successfully.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    I found a way to store JPEGs efficiently in Access.
    See Stephen Lebans sample
    Regards,
    Peter

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    I found a way to store JPEGs efficiently in access.
    See Stephen Lebans sample
    Regards,
    Peter

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    As a WAG, try creating a new form and dropping a new "other" control onto it. Scan thru the list of controls that are registered on your computer, and see if the Kodak scan control ist there. I *think* it's supplied by default from Windows (not sure about its genesis, though). If it's there, you have your answer... Also not really sure about how to find Help with the Kodak scan control. I've only used it enough to know that you *can* control the scanner using it.

    HTH.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    If you find the scan control, there should also be a thumbnail and image edit control.

    Not sure what the deal is post Win 95, but they used to come with the OS, or as a free download.

    For the win 95 ones I got help files from the net somewhere (sorry can't remember where)

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    Thanks.
    I looked and sure enough there is a scaning control. The one I have is not Kodak, it's called 'ScanTool Control'. But unfortunately there is no way of getting it to see my scanner.
    Any idea how to get that Kodak one?
    Regards,
    Peter

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    Sorry - no.... I am pretty sure it came with the OS (Win98 SE). Also read some bumph somewhere that the Kodak control had evolved from the Wang control that originally came with Windows.

    A quick google search for "Kodak scanning control" found many sites including this one which may help:
    http://community.borland.com/article...,26174,00.html
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    I'm running Win2k Pro, and the Kodak Imaging application (installed in AccessoriesImageVuekodakimg.exe), including the imgscan.ocx appears to have been part of my Windows installation.
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    637
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    Thanks Charlotte.
    I have Win 2K Pro with Office 2K developer, but it's not on my system. I found it on another computer & copied the imgscan.ocx across.
    Do you know how I get Access to see the ocx?
    Are you aware of any documentation or help files? Cause without that I
    Regards,
    Peter

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acquiring images (2000)

    Well, I can't tell you why it wasn't installed on your machine in the first place, but a Google search on Kodak and ImageVue turned up this method for unhiding the setup in Add/Remove Windows Components: http://www.crsdata.net/technicalsupp...agefix2000.htm. I tried it on my machine and Imaging showed up big as life the next time I selected Add/Remove Windows Components. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •