Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't view just one webpage

    After installing Knowledge Base Article Q321232., I am refused access to my on-line banking account. I get a Browser Alert that reads: You cannot access online account svcs with your current Web Browser. Possible reasons could be:

    You are using Netscape 4.0 or 4.07 or 6.0 and we cannot support it for security reasons. (I'm running IE 6.0 with 128-bit encryption).

    You are using a Browser that is incompatible with our online svcs. (I have used this account for over a year).

    Your Browser does not support 128-bit encryption. (See above).

    None of these reasons apply to me. I contacted the bank and they tried to correct the situation by checking my security settings, which were all set properly. They wanted to know if I had emptied the Temporary Internet folder, in spite of my telling them that I did that every night. They had me re-boot, then they gave up. On my own I ran Norton's Speed Disk, Disk Doctor, disabled Norton's Auto-Protect and Zone Alarm Pro. In spite of all that, I still can't view my online account. I can go everywhere else on the Web except that one website.

    I have Windows 98SE and this problem started after I installed the KB article which cannot be deleted.

    Will someone please help me, viewing my bank account and paying my bills is essential. Writing checks is not an option I wish to use. and I will appreciate any help or suggestions.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Are you sure that the article number is correct? I cannot find that number in the KB.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Blackpool, Lancashire, England
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Duchess is referring to the "Microsoft Security Bulletin MS02-023" as mentioned in Woody's Windows Watch Vol.2 No.19.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/...in/ms02-023.asp

    I'm not sure why it should "block" access only to banking site(s).

    As a "quick fix" would another browser work (such as Opera)?
    Windows XP SP3

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Please check to see if Help | About really states that 128 bit encryption is active.

    For some reason the Q321232 MSKB article has been pulled -- probably being rewritten to correct the errors...

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Quakertown, PA, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    517
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Also, go to C:windowscookies and see if you can remove any cookies from your bank. Perhaps the old cookie and the new software are conflicting.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    I am referring to.Windows Critical Update Q321232:Security Update (Internet Explorer 6) Both articles apply to the same fix (?). It is a very strange situation because I can view other banking sites. The bank I can't view has the URL http://www.capitalone.com.
    Tech support for the bank had me change their address to https, and make other changes to my security settings, none of which solved the problem.

    I have recently installed Zone Alarm Pro (trial version), could this be configured incorrectly? This seems more likely because I can view another banking online website with no problem. Before I installed Pro I had the free version and had no problem with any site on the Web, including the one I can't see now.

    Another temporary fix is to uninstall ZA Pro and see if I can view the page. It has 9 days left. I was going to buy it but now I will wait until I hear from you or someone else. I really don't want to install another Browser, temporary or not. I will if that is what you suggest I do.

    This problem is driving me crazy, now that I think of it, if ZA was the cuplrit than why can I see the other backing site? Captial One also told me that they use Cookies and the other bank doesn't. My settings for Cookies was to restrict them and Capital One had me remove all restrictions (of course that didn't work either).
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    How can I tell if it's active or not? Here's how Help| About says: MIE version 6.0.2.600.0000IC Cipher Strength: 128-bit.

    For your information, I tried to repair IE and was told that it couldn't be repaired because IEMIGRAT.DLL was missing, so I reinstalled it over itself and the updates now report: 0 ( 2 previous updates where there prior to the reinstall, including Q321232). The missing DLL is now on the system.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Thanks for the suggestion, I removed all cookies placed by the bank and the situation is still the same.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Errors...where? <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Blackpool, Lancashire, England
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Yes both "articles" are the same - I was just giving a alternate description as the KB was pulled (as rmrucker pointed out).

    You shouldn't need to uninstall ZA Pro - you can just use its shutdown.

    You could ask the bank to check (from one of their PCs) if this patch/IE6/Win98 combination does actually work ?

    When you deleted your cookies, did you have to re-register or just log-in again. This "patch" has caused some problems with email accounts - users had to recreate their account from scratch to get access.

    Is this approach possible with your on-line banking access?

    If you want to keep checking yourself, there are some rather drastic measures you could try:

    a) Create a new user account under Windows on your PC and use that to access the bank - this would eliminate all the cookie/temporary internet file possibilities.

    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] My suggestion of using another browser was a way of immediately identifying the "patch" as the problem.
    Check with the bank which browsers they support if necessary.

    c) Alternatively, you can't uninstall the IE patch but you could uninstall IE6 (revert back to IE5/IE5.5)?


    I'm assuming you need access to the account and not necessarily keep fighting to find a fix.
    Windows XP SP3

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Errors Where? Are you joking? Errors, where NOT! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    In the first release of MS02-023 I previously posted about 10 different typos -- some have been corrected -- but many not. They had a particularly difficult time spelling the word, eh, "particular". They still have a hard time with "alignment" and several other words. Not to mention there are several places in the bulletin where words were inadvertently duplicated. So much for their "Spell Checking".

    Do you need proof? Go to here MS02-023, open the Technical Details and FAQ sections and the search for "alingment" and "eliminates eliminates". Oops! There are plenty more typos -- and that doesn't even get to the part about the vulnerabilities NOT being fixed correctly, but this is already WAY too off topic...
    ___________________________________________

    Getting back to the question at hand. There were problems with the Cipher Strength being inappropriately reported as "0" on prior updates. See this article. Many users were having problems using online banking because of this.

    If your Help | About screen shows the 128-bit Cipher Strength, then this is unlikely your problem. However, perhaps it is still worth looking into Schannel.dll, Rsabase.dll, and Rsaenh.dll?? I don't know.

    So, the problem occurs AFTER you have already signed into your account and AFTER you are already transmitting over HTTPS -- correct?

    Could you give us any more details on what exactly the screen looks before you try to connect to the unreachable page? Can you give us ANY images that may be helpful? Thanks.

    Also, Search your computer for a file named "Hosts" -- and no extension. If you find one, rename it to Hosts.old. If you ONLY find Hosts.sam, you can ignore it.

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    I've said this before and I'll say it again. Do NOT install IE6 on to a Dos-code based Windows OS unless you :

    a. know what you're doing and know how to roll back if things go pear-shaped

    b. are prepared to spend time and effort to get it to gel, and can afford to give up if you can't

    c. are prepared to accept that in some cases it just won't work as it does with the OSs its supposed to be used with based on NT code. (I.e. Win 2k and XP).

    I have more technical enquiries about this particular combination than any other (with the exception perhaps of ME). My usual advice to relative novices is to dump 98 and go for XP - with provisos, of course.

    There'll always be someone chipping in with 'well, I've used it for n months and its ok' owtte but unfortunately that ain't you, or you wouldn't be asking the question.

    otoh, if it's only one site, perhaps you could live with it.....

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Hi Terry, thanks for responding. I used the disable ZA method and it's now one of my 'tied and it didn't work' items. As for your suggestion to ask the bank to check to see if the patch worked, I will try and see if they will check that out for me.

    I am on a LAN Cable network and when I delete cookies I don't have to register or log-in. When I removed them they go to my recycle bin and that's that. I could call Microsoft, I believe that I saw in the KB article that tech support for some problems MAY be free. My tech support option expired a long time ago and I now have to give them $35 per incident (notice the word give).

    Access to the online banking account is not all that important, I just pay my bill on it's website but I have another option. The bank where I have my money has online facilities which I can use to send the payment. I just hate to lose things that I had previously, my frustrations get the better of me sometimes.. I was always taught that if it's broke, fix it or throw it out so I guess I will throw it out and just don't pay them on their website.

    I did ask a question before about How do you tell if 128-bit encryption is active, but no one has replied to that one yet.

    Thanks for trying to help, and if no one has anymore suggestions, I will consider this thread closed.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Hmmm... close if you wish -- it's your thread.

    To test 128-bit encryption, go to this site. You will need Active Scripting enabled to test this. If your 128-bit encryption is working, you will see this message:

    Your Web Browser Supports 128-bit Encryption
    Congradulations, your Web browser supports 128-bit encryption.

    It could not be easier. You can also test it here. Hit the green "Test" button.

    First, let's make sure you have active 128-bit Encryption. Further recommendations can only be made after this.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't view just one webpage

    Thanks for the page to test my encryption. I did it and it passed the test and said my cookie settings were funtional.

    Let me tell you what I did today. I called Microsof and was given a phone number to call if there are problems with a patch (866) 727-2338. The department is: PC Saftey. To make a long story short, I ended up reinstalling Windows 98SE and got IE ver 5.0.

    I upgraded and got IE 5.5 SP2 & Internet Tools with 128-bit). But, as usual that didn't fix my problem either. I am tired of fooling with this and will just pay them throught my regular online banking account and forget about paying them on their website.

    Thanks for your patience and your help.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •