Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Word 2002 and Acrobat 5 (Word 2002)

    Can any of you reproduce the problem with PDFMaker that i describe at the following URL?

    http://www.standards.com/OhMyWord/VBABugsFeatures.html

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2002 and Acrobat 5 (Word 2002)

    I have found a workaround to the problems, but do not yet know the cause of the problems.

    See the updated http://www.standards.com/OhMyWord/VBABugsFeatures.html.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2002 and Acrobat 5 (Word 2002)

    Very interesting Howard.

    I'm runing Word 2000 and have recently had a lot of (GPF) crashes upon exiting Word after doing VBA development. I wonder if this is related. I have noticed that the "owner file" for pdfmaker.dot was still in the startup folder, indicating that something happened as PDF Maker exited...

    I'm going to plunk in your autoexit and see...

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word 2002 and Acrobat 5 (Word 2002)

    Let us know if this eliminates some/all of your problems.

    I've seen this problem with each of the versions of Acrobat I've used (versions 4 and 5, only had Reader for 3).

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    Thanx for the tip on Word & PDFMaker!! For a LONG time I've been plagued by Invalid Page Fault errors whenever exiting Word or Excel after having VBE open. I once even posted a question about this (in Excel forum) but never got a solution. Until I read your post & linked article I never made (now obvious) connection between VBE6.DLL IPF errors and the PDFMaker add-ins. I realize now the problem started after installing Acrobat 5.0 - did not have problem with 4.0. (I'm using Office 2K SR-1A). I don't use the PDF add-ins anyway - was not able to move or rename files (PDFMaker.dot and PDFMaker.xls), so had to rename the Office Startup and XLStart folders and create new empty startup folders to replace them. Problem solved, no more annoying IPF errors!!

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    The cause of these problems is almost certainly due to sloppy programming of PDFMaker.dot, unless there is a problem MSFT or Adobe won't tell us about.

    This problem really does need wide publicity to force a correction to PDFMaker or a statement as to WHY the problem cannot be corected.

    Maybe Woody should mention this in one of his newsletters?

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    My GPF's have also vanished after installing your fix, Howard.

    I have a sneaking suspicion that either it's a matter of a class not terminating properly, or a secondarly loaded Add-in (I think PDFMaker.dot loads a second template in the Acrobat folder) not being unloaded properly.

    I agree, Woody should put it in the newsletter. Of course, it only effects developers.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    It affects more than developers.

    If one has macros that create, say, toolbars or keybindings or ..., when a user installs/uses the macros, users will see the error and believe that it is your software.

    The problem could actually lie in any of the two PDFMaker templates used, or in a DLL that might modify something.

    Even worse is the following:

    I have a gUtilities.dot in Word's StartUp directory.
    I wrote all the code. The code is used ONLY via my own toolbar/smenus or manually via the Tools | Macros menu.

    However, if I use PDFMaker, say, by clicking on one of the Acrobat toolbar buttons, then when I exit Word, I get a message asking if I want to save changes to gUtilities.dot. This is bogus since none of the macros change anything in gUtilities.dot.

    Indeed, it even asks whether I want to save changes to Normal, but there aren't any changes.

    Such messages occur even with my Auto Exit macro.
    This likely occurs because PDFMakerA.dot is loaded when I use the Acrobat buttons.

    I just added code to unload PDFMakerA.dot in the AutoExit macro, but the messages to save changes still occur.

    Obviously, PDFMaker*.dot are ill-designed and/or not well implemented.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    Howard,

    I've seen the prompt to change Normal.dot (but not to any other Startup dot). But this, I think has nothting to do with PDFMaker.

    I found that two MS COM-Add-ins, for Mappoint 2002 and for MS Read-in, cause the prompt to save normal every time I exited.

    I uninstalled them and the problem vanished. I mentioned this in the Mappoint forums and never got any response.

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    In this case, the prompt is caused by PDFMaker.

    1. Open Word
    2. Immediately use the PDFMaker buttom.
    3. Immediately Exit Word.

    Messages occur.
    Then repeat the above not using PDFMaker.

    I can understand that sloppy programming in an add-in can cause apparent changes to Normal. But they really have to go out of their way to affect user written global templates, that's a real botch.

    No point in discussing this.
    Heat needs to be applied to Adobe.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    For what it's worth, with Word 2000 (can't speak for Word 2002), the steps you outline did NOT result in the error of prompting to save a clean normal.dot.

    This is with PDFMaker 5.0, using the Make PDF button (not the menu item)

    Did you check if you did have any Com Add-ins loaded? Just curious.

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    I get the same results as the wine-Guy (sorry, Guy, I couldn't resist).

    Acrobat 5.05 is installed on my PC

    I open Word, click the PDFMaker button. Create a pdf. Save it. Close it. Close Word. No errors.

    If you are sure it's Acrobat Reader, why not debug the PDFMaker template?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    I'm using Word 2002.

    Doesn't matter what else is loaded.
    PDFMaker makes the difference.

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    Ah, but I have the full Acrobat, not just the REader, so that could make a difference.

    The code in the PDFMaker template is password protected for Word 2002.

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Word & Acrobat 5-Invalid Page Faults (Word)

    I have both Acrobat 4.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.05 if that helps your analysis.

    p.s. Password protected templates should be no problem to a man of your caliber.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •