Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> All

    Is Win XP Pro able to support dual CPUs? I just got two P-III 1GHz and I have a neat Motherboard. I was thinking of buying Win 2000 Pro, but I wanted to know if XP would make use of 2 CPUs.

    Thanks

    Wassim <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    Wassim:

    Yes WinXP Pro will support 2 processors. That is one of the major differences between XP Home and Pro. Home will only support a single processor. Also if you wish to put an XP computer on a network that is also a domain, you must use XP Pro.
    Hope this helps.
    apapkin@cox.net

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    Thanks apapkin.

    I took a trip down to the store, and I looked at the box, and it did say it can handle two CPUs.

    But the question here would be, could I install it without having this "authentication process" that now MS is making us all jump through?

    I simply want to use the OS but don't want to be bothered with having to register over and over or even send more money to MS.

    Thanks

    Wassim <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    Wassim:
    Yes unfortunately you will have to follow the activation procedures. If you don't, after 15 days or so Windows will not boot until you do activate. You do not have to register, just activate. I suggest buying the full version, not the upgrade.
    apapkin@cox.net

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    I'm not sure why you would suggest purchasing the full version but I have the WinXP Pro Upgrade and it works great. Never had a problem with the upgrade version and it is half the price. Regarding the activation, it was not intrusive or difficult and only took about a minute or so with a 56k modem connection via the internet. I have never had to deal with the activation process again.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    BriGuy255:

    Suggested full because I have never been a fan of upgrades for operating systems. This is personal only and should not be considered mandatory in any way. If upgrade works for you, not a problem.
    Cheers,
    apapkin

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    The only difference between the two, the upgrade requires a proof of a earlier OS, i.e., you will need to keep your older CD around to do a rebuild.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    DaveA:

    That's another good reason.
    apapkin

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    East Lansing, MI, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    I'm interested in finding out how those dual-processor systems perform. I have a co-worker with a new computer with 2 2GB processors and also 2 GB RAM running Windows XP Pro. He had hoped to use it to make quick work of compiling Microsoft Visual FoxPro programs, but has found that his modest notebook can run rings around it. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15> The performance options mentioned in Knowledgebase Article Q308417 seem to be fairly basic, and his machine seems to be set up to give priority to foreground programs. What have others experienced?

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Support for Dual CPUs (Win XP Pro)

    You have to be very careful when considering a 2 processor system. Yes XP supports it, but that does not necessarily mean that XP uses it. In my experience, programs need to be specially compiled to use 2 processors and that is why, with the added overhead of the 2 CPUs talking to each other, the compiler is actually running slower than on a single processor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •