Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VGA to S-Video

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    VGA to S-Video

    I've built a celeron win98 computer I want to connect to my home entertainment center but I do not want to hook up a monitor. I've got a Voodoo 3 3000 with S-Video output on this system. Anyone know how to make the Voodoo output to the TV by default?
    Or do you know of another CHEAP way to convert VGA to either S-Video or RCA video?

    TIA!

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VGA to S-Video

    Hi davidmax:

    I have a PC entertainment system set up at home using an ATI AIW Radeon AGP video card displaying on to a 51" Toshiba TV. One thing that made it a lot easier for me was to use a good quality AV receiver in the middle, so the S-Video output on the card plugs directly into an S-Video input on the receiver, and the TV is connected to the receiver by digital cable.

    Otherwise, there is nothing special that you need to do in Windows to get the display on your TV - just plug it in and the signal goes. You will likely have to tweak the display settings to optimize the picture, but that's it. Good luck! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VGA to S-Video

    Thanks Keely. That's pretty much what I was hoping the Voodoo 3 would do. Unfortunately it doesn't sense what cables are plugged in during boot ;(
    I was hoping to get this set up without buying anything else but it looks like I just might have to.

    Thanks for the idea though

    Dave

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    oakland, California
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VGA to S-Video

    I am curious about S-video. I think I read it was something Sony developed but don't know if this is true. My Sony camcorder has a S-video port and I have a Samsung SyncMaster 150MP which has a S-video port. What is the comparison between the normal video system from my GeForce3 card and the S-video. The video card has both VGA and S-video ports. Searching gets me lots of information but not anything useful so far.

    CBS

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VGA to S-Video

    S-video allows more video information to travel across the cable. Bandwidth, in geek-speak. If you have a TV/Monitor with S-Video inputs, there is a marked increase in the picture. If you've ever tried to watch streaming video over the Internet, you may also know that it's difficult at best with a modem, and gets better with cable/DSL/High Speed access to the Internet. More bandwidth, more quality. If you have the ability to use it, plug the S-Video cable in and see the difference for yourself. With your Geforce3 I believe you can use the S-Video connector to record digital video on your computer. Seems NVidia was calling that Personal Cinema, if memory serves..... <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VGA to S-Video

    CBS, for a plain-language explanation of the differences between component (best), s-video (next best), and composite (decent enough) signals, try this page. My station in the geek world is such that if it doesn't have an OS, I don't get it - but I even understood this explanation.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VGA to S-Video

    Great resource, Keely. Thanks! And here all this time I thought I was <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15> because I had S-video. <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •