3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

OL slow since connecting to Exchange server (2000)

OL 2000
    CW Mode
    Up until recently we have used POP3 to get email from our companies Exchange server which is located several states away from our office. We now have increased our internet bandwidth and setup a VPN between our office and the location of the Exchange server. The only change I made in Outlook was to remove the POP3 service and add the Exchange service. All my emails still come to my inbox that is linked to my local PST and so on. Now for some reason everything I do in OL is slower. When I create, edit or delete and email, task, appointment, contact or any of the various items in OL the process seems to drag.
    I have little experience with Exchange server but I'm guessing that maybe Rules could be the culprit. So my questions is..

A) If there are server side rules could they be slowing down my OL even though I have not done anything in OL to engage server side rules?

[img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] If not server side rules than what else might be the culprit?

Thanks
    Ed

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

Re: OL slow since connecting to Exchange server (2000)

mapi access is always slower than using pop or imap.

are you working online or offline? if offline, only syncing should be slower.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

First - thanks for replying and I apolagize for taking so long to answer but for some reason I never got an email that someone replied and so I didn't realize there was a post.