Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Page Numbers (Access 2000)

    Hi! I need to print a report where the page numbers do not start with one. For instance, I need pages 8-34. This is my first database in Access, so if this requires some macro or detailed expression, could you please detail? Sorry for my lack o'knowledge. Also, if there is already a thread on this subject please let me know,as I couldn't find one. Thanks in advance for any help.
    Sarah

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page Numbers (Access 2000)

    In the control source of the textbox where you want the page number enter :
    ="Page " & [Page] + X - 1
    replace the X with the number with witch the numbering has to begin.
    If you want another number each time you run the report enter :
    ="Page " & [Page] + [Enter a Starting Page Number] - 1
    This will ask you for a number.
    Francois

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Page Numbers (Access 2000)

    Alternatively, you can place this single line of code in your form's ReportHeader OnFormat event:<pre> Me.Page = 8</pre>

    You can use this Me.Page technique to reset the page number anywhere in your report. For example, you might have a report in which you want to restart page numbering for each customer. All you need to do is put Me.Page = 1 in the Customer Header's OnFormat event.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page Numbers (Access 2000)

    Wow, I went pretty far back for this one !!

    I was using ="Page " & [Page] & " of " & [Pages] as the Control Source for my PageFooter.

    When I use Me.Page = 1 in the Customer Header's OnFormat event, it works for the 'Page' part.
    How to I get it to reset the "Pages " portion?

    Thank you,
    Michael Abrams

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Page Numbers (Access 2000)

    You can't reset or change the total number of pages in code. It is calculated by Access. You will have to calculate your own number of pages somehow. If you want more help, you'll have to explain what you are trying to do.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Page Numbers (Access 2000)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by mrabrams on 19-May-04 08:19. )</P>The report is open accounts by customer.
    The report has a total of 10 pages.
    Customer 1's open account take up 3 pages. (Sales rep is Mike)
    Customer 2's open accounts take up 5 pages. (Sales rep is Mary)
    Customer 3's open accounts take up 2 pages. (Sales rep is Joe)

    Each customer's pages go to a different sales person.
    When I hand Mike his pages, they'll read Page 1 of 10, Page 2 of 10 Page 3 of 10
    Since Mike's Customer1 only has 3 pages, I would like it to read Page 1 of 3, Page 2 of 3 Page 3 of 3
    and the same for the other sales people. (It'll always read ... Page x "of 10 pages" regardless of the actual count for their portion)

    But it does make sense that Access couldn't know how many pages each 'portion' of a report has.

    I like to use the 'of pages' so people know how many pages there should be, but in this scenario I don't see how I can do that.
    I may just have to go with the page number only for this project.

    (*I did just notice there is a "Pages" property in the Format event. I just can't figure out how to use it
    in this scenario)

    If you have any ideas, I'm open to try them !!

    Thank you Hans !

    Michael Abrams

    edited to say I found the solution at http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...p;Product=acc97

    Now I just have to apply it !! Looks like a lot of work to produce what I want, but I'll make a go of it promptly.

    edited again: It works perfectly !!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •