New Lounger
    Thanks

Time out a db (2000)

I am trying to figure out how to "Time Out" my db. I would like after a certain date for the db not to open anymore and a message box to pop up. I am not sure where to even start. I have been looking through my Access books- but they are very limited. I am new to writing code and have been only working with access for less than a year. Could I also have a Password so that I can unlock it after "that date" Thanks for the help!

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Time out a db (2000)

Create this function in a module:
    <pre>Function CloseDb()
    If Date < #2/2/2003# Then
    MsgBox "Db is not any more available"
    Application.Quit
    Else
    ' Code to do what you want.
    End If
    End Function</pre>

Replace #2/2/2003# with your date.
    Create a macro that you name AutoExec, with the following action:
    RunCode
    Function name : CloseDb()
    This will not prevent the user to open the db with the shift key.
    Francois

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

This depends on how serious you are. Most such attempts within Access can be circumvented one way or another. There are some products out there that specifically give this sort of flexibility; like allowing a program to be executed a certain # of times or for a certain # of days. Unfortunately, I can't remember the names of these products/companies, but you can probably find them by doing a Google search using topics like: security, shareware, demos, etc.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks