Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    I want to know if it is possible to make some autocorrect entry available to a specific templage name only. I do have a templage names "Test Normal". I added some entries to the autocorrecty entry, I want them to be available to that templage only. I want to know if it is possible to do that. If so, how?

    thank you

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    I can't say that I know this for sure (i.e. I can't find it documented directly), but I don't think you can. AutoCorrect entries, as opposed to AutoText, are stored in *.acl files. They are available not only for multiple templates, but for Office programs other than Word. Therefore, I don't see how you can limit it to a template.

    However, formatted autocorrect entries are stored in normal.dot. I suppose you could try something if you're interested. This only works theoretically. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    1. Rename normal.dot to, say, normal.old.
    2. Restart Word so a new normal.dot is created.
    3. Create formatted AutoText entries.
    4. Close Word, saving normal.dot.
    5. Rename normal.dot to whatever custom template name you want.
    6. Repeat steps 2-5 if you want to try this with other templates.
    7. Rename normal.old to normal.dot.

    Theoretically, if you load these other templates, they might still contain the formatted AutoCorrect entries. Then again, the registry may only find AutoCorrect entries that are either in the .acl file or normal.dot. If you're willing to try this out, post back with the results. (It's too late & I've had too much wine to try this myself tonight. <img src=/S/flatcat.gif border=0 alt=flatcat width=61 height=21>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    Don't know of a way to do it. If you can do what you want using AutoText it is very easy, since AutoText is stored in templates.

    If it is important enough to you, I suppose you could use the AutoCorrect backup tool on the MVP site and modify that to (1) import a table with your AC entries when your template or a document based on your template is opened (created) and (2) delete those entries when it closes. However, those entries would still be available to any other open documents. This might also tend to corrupt your .acl files over time, don't know.

    Would the AutoText list field help you at all? What is it that you are trying to accomplish by doing this? Someone may have some ideas for doing what you want that don't involve using AutoCorrect at all.

    Also, keep in mind that AC entries are global to Office, not just Word-specific. So any changes you make may make differences in other programs as well.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    I worked with 2 languages. Some of he words look like English and sound alike. It is not supported by Word. I added some words in the AutoCorrect entry for automatic entry. Howerver sometime there is comfusion. I do use 2 different template. One to create English Document and one for the other language. It would have been nice if I can make these entries available only for the other template.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    I may try it. I will let you know if I do.

    thanks

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    It is my understanding (may be wrong) that AutoCorrect entries are supposed to be language-sensitive. What are the language settings for the text in your templates? If you are typing in a different language without changing the Word language setting, Word may not know the difference, even if you have changed the keyboard in Windows. (I don't know, here, just talking.)
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    I have tried it, but did not work

    thanks

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    Sorry for being dense, but which "it" have you tried?

    Are the language settings in Word different for the two templates? For all styles in those templates?
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    Charles, sorry the response was not addressed to you. It was addressed to Phil. I tried Phil's approach. I have not tried your approach. I am going to look at that as well. I think I may handle it that way. Since they are not too many words that are English like, I may need to sort them and add them to the autonew and auto open so every time users start a new or open a new document based on that themplage, the word can be added automatically to the entry. Since the amount can be like 20 or 30 words, speed maybe unsignificant. Let me know what do you think about this approach. Do you think it is better? Do you think speed can be a problem for 20 to 30 words every time user start a new document?

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: AutoCorrect Entry to specific templage (2000)

    Thanks, after I sent that, I tried looking at the post in the "thread" mode and saw that. No idea how long it will take. You are right that it shouldn't take that long; on the other hand, the MVP macro is complex. I guess the key is going to be getting them back out again when the document closes. You could try recording a macro that does that part for you.

    On the other hand, if you can set the templates up so that they have completely different language settings, that may work, too. It would certainly be a lot simpler than the macros. If you do get either of these to work, please post it so that others don't have to repeat your pain.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •