Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error messages (IE 6)

    Hi

    I have Windows XP and IE 6 and lately I haven't been able to access some webpages and/or I get a message at the bottom of the browser saying "Error on Page" or "Javascript ()".

    Is there a way I can fix this or can I reinstall IE and how.

    In IE5 If I recall correctly there was a IE repair function is there one in IE 6 somewhere. I looked in Control Panel - Add/Remove programs but there isn't anything there.

    Any suggestions etc would be appreciated.
    Dax


  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    What Zone are you in when the error occurs? Whichever it is, check your IE Security settings to see if Active Scripting and Scripting of JavaApplets are enabled.
    Also what version of the Java VM have you? Go to Start , Run and type WJView. You should have 5.00.3805. Although Java and JavaScript are not related, I reckon IE seems to think they are.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    Thanks for your response Merc

    I have checked everything you mentioned and I am currently in the Internet Medium level security zone. I checked that I have Active scripting and Scripting of JavaApplets and they are all enabled

    I've also checked my Java VM version and mine is 5.00.3802

    Should I download the latest version and if so where can I get it from?

    Cheers
    Dax


  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    I would argue against this being a Java problem. IE6 should not confuse JavaScript with Java -- remember, out of the box IE6 doesn't even have Java...

    "Error on page" usually means just that -- the person who wrote the HTML code made an error and your browser is notifying you that it cannot display the page correctly because of it.

    I believe that the Javascript() implies there is problem in the Script code -- but I am not sure on this one.
    _____________________

    You should have the IE Repair Tool under Add/Remove -- but many users report this is not there. This article describes the Repair tool and states this at the end:


    If the Internet Explorer Repair Tool Verification does not work, or if Internet Explorer 5 is not listed in the Add/Remove Programs tool in Control Panel, you may be able to start the Internet Explorer Repair tool from a command prompt:
    Click Start , and then click Run .

    In the Open box, type the following command, and then click OK :

    rundll32 setupwbv.dll,IE5Maintenance "C:Program FilesInternet ExplorerSetupSETUP.EXE" /g "C:WINDOWSIE Uninstall Log.Txt"

    NOTE : This command is case sensitive."


    Then, there is also this information:

    NOTE : Internet Explorer is not listed in the Add/Remove Programs tool if you delete the uninstall (or backup) information for the previous version of Internet Explorer. In Windows 2000, installing a service pack also removes Internet Explorer from the Add/Remove Programs tool (but uninstalling the service pack restores Internet Explorer to the Add/Remove Programs tool).

    If Microsoft Internet Explorer 6 and Internet Tools is missing from the list of installed programs and you did not delete the uninstall information or install (or reinstall) a Windows 2000 service pack, run Setup.exe from your Internet ExplorerSetup folder. If you are running Windows 2000, run the w2kexcp.exe /u command from your Internet ExplorerIE Uninstall folder. If this does not work, you need to reinstall Windows.

    REINSTALL WINDOWS! Great...

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    For once I tend to agree with Rick. The only reason I mentioned the Java VM in connection with this problem is that I read somewhere that the VM controls both Java and JavaScript. In exactly what way I can't be sure. Having the version you have is should be adequate, as the changes from yours to the next were minimal. However, it can't harm to make the upgrade anyway. You can get the Java VM from Sun Systems or the MS website.
    Give us the URL of the pages giving you grief, and lets see if it really is the page that's at fault.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    JUST ONCE??? <img src=/S/brainwash.gif border=0 alt=brainwash width=15 height=15>

    Need I remind you where you got your zone buttons???

    Cheers, Merc.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    <font color=red> Edited by DaveA to add url code</font color=red>

    Thanks everybody for your help to date.

    So far I have dounloaded the Java update but this hasn't helped. I still can't find the repair function for IE6.

    The main website I am having trouble with is my Credit Union's when I try to access the Web Banking site.

    The address is:
    http://www.cua.com.au/NewCuaWeb.nsf/
    The problem comes up when I try to log onto the Webbanker site from this page. ((Link in top right hand corner).

    It was working fine up to about a fortnight ago.

    Thanks
    Dax


  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    At what point do you start having probems? When the login page opens or when you enter you account and password info?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    Exactly what is the problem? Are you not accessing the page that you are supposed to be accessing?

    The page is on https and you need to have 128-bit encryption active to display it. Some of the MS IE updates tend to inadvertently 'break' this. Look under "Help | About Internet Explorer" and make sure your "Cipher Strength" is at "128-bit".

    This may or may not be a direct link to the page in question:
    https://webbank1.cua.com.au/webbank/abtwsac...ext=CUABankLink
    See if you can click this link and get to the page.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    Dave

    I can get to the main page (the one I supplied a link for) but when I click on the Webbanker link, all that happens is a slight screen flicker and nothing else.

    Hope this helps
    Dax


  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    Try my direct link to the page that I pasted above. This does NOT rely on JavaScript.

    Also, you need to make sure you have 128-bit Cipher Strength.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    Ok thanks for the information, I will try your direct link tonight when I get home from work.

    Thanks again
    Dax


  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    On the outside chance that ANY of these apply, here are exceprts from some of my other posts:

    First, check under Help | About Internet Explorer. See if the Cipher Strength reads "128-bit". If it does, skip this. However, If you are showing zero CipherStrength, check this out:
    Cipher Strength Appears as 0-Bit in Internet Explorer.

    This has cured a few people's problems with IE and secure connections -- especially with IE6.

    Some people also have recommend clearing out your Cookie folder and the TIF

    Lastly, take a quick look at this: Unable to Connect to Secure Web Page Using Internet Explorer -which suggests:
    The PCT (Private Communications Technology) 1.0, SSL (Secure Socket Layer) 2.0, or SSL 3.0 security check box is not selected.

    Then this is too old to be your problem: Internet Explorer Error Message When Viewing a Secure Web Site - But I include it for completeness.
    __________________________________________________

    Also, you can test your browser to make sure the 128-bit encryption is working at these sites:
    PersonalDataCenter
    Intuit
    Netfile
    TIPS

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    It pops a new window. Have you installed any pop-up suppression software (ad-killers)?

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error messages (IE 6)

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you jscher2000.

    You are a life saver and champion not to mention you have also saved quite a few strands of what hair I have left.

    2 weeks ago I installed Popup Killer.
    I've just disabled it and you guessed it, that was the problem.

    To everyone who has been very kind to help this little old Aussie a very big THANK YOU and sorry to have troubled you all.

    If I ever have another problem that needs your help (and no doubt I will), I'll make sure I add a lot more detail etc

    Thanks again to all

    Cheers
    Dax


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •