Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    Hi all,
    I have made an MDE from a front end but a few of the older workstations threw up an error something like "That command isn't available in an MDE database" when I tried to run a particular report. When I tried the MDB on the same workstations I found that I needed to show it where the DAO350.dll was in the references before the same report would work. I made a new MDE from the fixed MDB but the same error pops up. <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

    Any ideas please?

    Ryan

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    You must either update all workstations to the same version of DAO (for Access 97, it is 3.51 or 3.6, I forget), or create a separate MDB and MDE for each version.

    Copy the MDB to a machine with the target version of DAO installed, set the correct DAO reference, and then create the MDE on that machine.

    After that, you should be able to distribute the MDE to other machines with the same DAO version.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    It's 3.51 for A97, Hans. DAO 3.6 is the Access 2000/2002 version.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    Does your broken Report make any design changes on the fly?
    If it does you can't use an MDE file because you cannot make any design changes. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    Thanks Hans & Charlotte, I'll give it a try.

    With regard to Steve's question, I use a form to enter the report criteria(start date and finish date) and the form uses VBA to delete the report's underlying query and a querydef with the SQL property to write a new query with the criteria included. It also changes the content of two labels on the report to reflect the new start and finish date. it then runs the report. I suppose this would qualify as a design change (the code even opens the report in design view).

    doh, as I write this I realise how obvious the problem is. OK, if I can't change the labels, can I still delete and rewrite the query in an MDB. I suspect not... Does anyone have any alternatives?

    Thanks Steve,
    Ryan

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    You can delete and create queries in .MDE databases, but you certainly can't open a report (or form, or module) in design view - that is precisely the kind of thing a .MDE prevents.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    Change your labels to unbound text boxes then change the ControlSource property to show your new date.

    You can change the query that you use for the RecordSource for the report.

    Why don't you use two parameters in your query which refer to the textboxes on your form to get the dates?
    Then run the report and set the two date textboxes on your report through code.
    If the form stays open when you run the report you do not need to set the date textboxes programatically, just set their ControlSource to refer to the form textboxes.
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Error after converting to MDE (97/2000/2002)

    - Regarding the labels, you could try using text boxes and a Dlookup to get the parameters.

    - Regarding the query, does the query itself actually change or are you using the same query definition and only changing the filter based on the form where selections are made. If you can't delete and re-write the query then you could use a make table query (turn off warnings first) to write the data to a table and base the record source of the report to the table. Thus, the table would update with new data each time the query is run. The Dlookup would still work to show the start and finish parameters on the report.
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •