Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Hello:

    I am running Windows XP and Internet Explorer 6. The default search engine in this setup is MSN. I would like to change MSN to Google.

    Does anyone know how I make this change?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    This page doesn't mention IE 6, but you can try it:

    Googlify your Browser

    Scroll down to "Make Google Your Default Search Engine"

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Works fine in IE6. That controls the "Explorer Bar" Search pane. If that is what you want, then that is all you need. If you want to use Google to search from the Address bar, then you need to do something else. Just ask...

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    1) I would never be without Google on my IE 6 toolbar--you can do this with a single click from Google and then you don't have
    even have to change the home page at Tools>Options. 2) Or this may interest you Dave Bau has a download at www.notesbydavebau.com or at specifically
    http://notesbydave.com/toolbar/searchdoc.htm that will allow you to launch a number of search engines from your desktop
    without taking up a lot of space or making a number of extra taskbars. That way you don't even have to open the browser. He calls it Dave's Quicksearch Taskbar Toolbar Deskbar which I would have to practice to say outloud fast.
    I would have hyperlinked, but I have tried and can't master the procedure.

    defrag

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)


  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I'm a bit confused: how does searching via the explorer bar search pane differ from searching in the address bar?

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    There are just two diffferent ways to search. Some people like to just Search directly from the address bar. To do this you have to do something completely different that searching from the Search left-hand "Explorer bar". It is just a matter of preference -- nothing else.

    Personally, I never use the Search Explorer bar and I prefer to just type whatever I want to search directly in the Address bar. It save me one step and it leaves my favorites still visible in the Explorer bar.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Hi,

    Thanks for the clarification.

    I'd just like to use Google from the address bar, as you prefer.

    How do I do this?

    Thanks,

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Open the "Search Explorer Pane/Bar". Below you see mine already "Googlified". Click the Customize button, then click the Autosearch settings button. Select "Google Sites" and hit OK as needed.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Hi:

    When I open the search explorer pane/bar, I don't see a customize button.

    Rather, I see "What are you looking for?" followed by a box for my question, followed by a sample question, followed by "You may also want to..."

    ???

    Thanks,

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    What version of IE?? I have never not seen a customize button. Can you paste an image??

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    Version: 6.0.2600.0000.xpclnt_qfe.010827-1803

    Update versions: Q321232

    When I press the keyboard button, Print Screen / Sys Rq, nothing happens; I am running Win XP Home. Any suggestions as to how I can get an image of my screen?

    Thanks,

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    You need to use Ctrl and Print screen or Alt and Print Screen and then onpen a grapgic profram or even wor and the "Paste" (Ctrl+v) the image into the program.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    On the screen capture, after pressing PrintScreen there should be an image on the clipboard that you can paste into Windows Paint. After trimming to show the minimum amount of appropriate stuff, you can save into a lightweight format: GIF often is smallest, but JPG also works.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Change the default search engine? (Win XP; I.E. 6)

    <P ID="nt"><font size=-1>(No Text)</font>
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •