Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: TOC (2000)

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    TOC (2000)

    For the past 3 weeks we've been discovering that TOC feature is a science unto itself!

    We think we've closed in on the formula for getting our 300 page doc to respond as we would have it but.....when we go to insert TOC and use the TOC Options window to dictate the order we want the TOC created in, we don't know how to "lock" that order in for other users. Surely we don't have to request the order every time we want to refresh it? But then - what do we know.......thanks in advance for your input! <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    I'm not sure what you mean by "lock" the order. If you have a document with a TOC created by using certain options (i.e. certain styles), all you have to do to update the styles with the same options is press F9 & choose "update entire table"

    Cheers,

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    Sorry - I confused the issue when I spoke of refreshing.

    In creating our TOC we created different styles and headings and would repeatedly insert our TOC to see if the format was looking more like what we wanted.

    Each time we inserted our TOC we had to use the option window and re-enter the order of the selections, otherwise it defaulted to Heading 1, 2 and 3 I believe.

    We want to be sure that whenever anyone attempts to "insert" a table of contents (and of course, deletes the current one per the prompt) that the same order is in effect. We had Company Name as a special heading because of the spacing it created in the TOC. The options lists has Heading 1 as the first item of sort - we wanted it to be Company Name. Every time we chose to insert TOC we had to make that.

    So we were thinking there must be a way to "lock", "dictate," "default" ......the order we wanted. I hope I haven't clouded the issue further!

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    Hi there. As for portability, or sending out, there's little you can do to dictate. However, you can insert a new table by right clicking in the table and selecting update field. Then choose entire table -- it will update according to your original selections.
    Karen

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    Could you... press Alt+F9 and carefully copy what appears inside the field braces for your customized TOC and post it here? That, essentially, is what you are going to need other people to insert into their documents to avoid the hassle of using the dialog. It might be easiest to circulate that field code and explain that it can be inserted with three steps: (1) Ctrl+F9, (2) Paste inside, (3) F9 to refresh the code to the results.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    Mark,

    You can get the insert TOC dialog to automatically come up with the options you want, but in order to do so, you have to make some adjustments to the definitions of some of your styles - for example:

    You want the 'Company Name' style to come in predefaulted as a "Level 1" in the TOC dialog. To do this:

    Go to Format > Style, and scroll in the Styles list on the left until you locate 'Company Name'. Click once to select that.
    Click on Modify, then on Format, and then on Paragraph.
    The Paragraph dialog will appear.
    Toward the top right of that dialog you will see a label that says "Outline level:", with a corresponding dropdown list.
    Most likely what it currently is saying there is "Body text".
    You want to change that setting to "Level 1".
    Then "OK" your way out of the dialogs (you do not need to click on "Apply" on the last dialog, for the changes you have made to stick).

    The setting we've just changed controls, among other things, how styles will appear in the preview panels of the TOC dialog - your Company Name style should now be appearing in the preview panel, without your needing to go into "Options" to turn it on.
    When you create the TOC, the Company Name entries will have the TOC 1 style applied to them.
    (Note that Heading 1 - 3 are always on by default; the only way to turn these off is to go into Options and take away the checkmarks.)

    The above steps can be done for any style for which you want to set a 'default TOC level' (and it doesn't have to be Level 1, it can be any level). To make the changes to the styles portable across documents/users, it's best to make these changes in the document template, rather than in individual documents themselves.

    Hope this gets to what you're trying to achieve.

    Gary

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    This is ALL new information for us. As I stated in the beginning, TOC - a science unto itself for newbies.

    Can't wait to try all of your suggestions - they are right on target. Thanks everyone! <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Syntax for TOC (2000)

    One other thing you can do, sort of an addition to what Jefferson said, is this. When you insert a TOC with the options that you want, save this as an Autotext entry. Then, if you merely want to change a style, you can modify the Autotext entry (or create several) that will insert the TOC with the options that you choose.

    The syntax for custom TOC levels is:

    { TOC o "StartNumber-EndNumber" t "StyleName,level,NextStyleName,level" }

    where o "StartNumber-EndNumber" specifies the range of the standard heading style to be used; i.e. if NO special style or level is specified, it will create a TOC from whatever range is specified. Heading 1 can only be a level 1, Heading 2 at level 2, etc. e.g. "2-3" will create a TOC from Headings 2 & 3 only, at their respective levels.

    t This switch allows you to specify which styles you wish to use in the TOC. It allows you to select nonstandard styles AND allows you to select standard styles (Heading 1 thru 9), but specify a custom TOC level (indentation).

    For example, {TOC o "3-3"} will create a TOC of Heading 3 style only, & indent it in the TOC to level 3. However, if you wanted Heading 3 to be at level one, the syntax is: {TOC o "3-3" t "Heading 3,1"}

    If you place "StyleNames,Number, after the t switch, it will use those styles & will place them at the level specified. The t switch overrides the range listed after the o switch.

    Cheers,

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    Phil,

    Your suggestion/s sound ideal. Do I dare ask you how I insert the syntax you have offered? I do not know VBA but I do remember being able to do some really neat stuff writiing in an Access class I took many months ago.

    I see wonderful code for customization here all the time and have no idea how to access and the basics of inserting what is offered.

    If you have an additional breath of energy Phil, and anyone reading this, would you include the pros (and major cons) of learning VBA? I want to try to sell it to my boss as I see what you pros are able to do with it but I don't know enough to win budget approval!

    Thanks again.

    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC (2000)

    I'm not a VBA expert. The syntax that I posted is inserted as follows:
    1. Press Ctrl+F9 to insert the curly braces.
    2. Everything inside the curly braces is simply typed.
    3. When finished typing, simply press F9 & your table is created.

    Remember that if you want to use the same syntax over & over in different documents you can save it as an Autotext entry.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •