Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks

Databases (VB 6)

Hi! I hope someone can help or point me in the right direction here. I am working on a vb app and I need to import a text file into the program(database) and I don't have a clue as to how to do this. My app has a database named layouts that contains 4 fields one of which is a part number field. I need to match that part number field up to the part number field in a text file (the text file is generated by a proprietary system and there's no other way of getting the info out.) and only display those matching records. (If theres a part number in the layouts database, I need only the matching records from the text file.)
    The text file is a +-sign delimited file and the user needs to be able to press an Update button and have this file imported into the program and displayed in a table-like fashion or grid. The info in the text file is read only and does not need to be edited.
    I am a vb newbie and really have no idea where to even begin on this. ALL help is VERY much appreciated! Thank You!
    Kris

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Databases (VB 6)

Are you actually using a table in a Jet/Access database as the back end for this, or are you storing the data in a file named layouts or somewhere else?
    Charlotte

Lounger
    Thanks

Yes. I created a database using Visdata within VB6. (Microsoft Jet 4.0 OLE DB Provider)

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Since it is just a text file, I would not use OLE to read it. I would use an Open statement, Line Input statements, and the Split function.

To give more information than that, I would need to know more about the text file, especially what you mean by +- sign deliminated. Can you put several lines into Word, change any words/data that are proprietary, and attach it to a reply to this post? Thanks! --Sam
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>