Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ephrata, Washington, USA
    Posts
    683
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    I don't know how to set this up. I want to create two combo boxes. In the first one, I want the user to select a category (like FORD), and based on that selection, combo box 2 will only provide a list of the items that are subcategories of the first (like ESCORT, MUSTANG, EXPLORER).

    How do I do this? I have two tables, one lists all the main categories, and the other lists the sub categories and contains the ID number of the category each belongs to.

    How can I get the sub category combo box to display just the items related to the category picked in combo box 1?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Look at post 135108 by Francois.

    Edited by Charlotte to activate post link

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Charlotte, how do you highlight the words like that?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Well, there is a post tag (although it isn't on the 1-click tagpanel), but I can never remember the syntax for it. I just did a Lounge Search on the message number went to that message, right clicked it and selected properties. Then I highlighted and copied the address and used the second url tag set (although I typed them in) to create the link. Here's what it looks like underneath:

    <!t><!/t>post 135108<!t><!/t>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Thanks!!
    While you're at it, how do you embed tabs (I've tried spaces and that does not work) into text to make code more readible in these posts?
    Pat

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Hi Pat,
    Tabs are actually pretty easy just type [ tab ], but without the spaces you will get
    this kind of behavior. There is also a shortcut to hyperlinking to a post that goes something like this:
    [ post=this post, 152081 ] which gives you (without the spaces) <!post=this post,152081>this post<!/post> which will take you to Charlottes post just prior to your reply. At the moment that syntax isn't on the Click Tag Panel, but a request has been made to add it. Happy hyperlinking.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Hi Wendell,
    Thanks for that !!

    However, when I hit the tab key when entering a post reply the cursor jumps to the 'No' of Include Signature just below the Post Reply box.
    It's ok, I have just worked it out.

    Cheers,
    Pat

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Entering a tab in a post

    The tab *key* is for navigation. To insert a tab, you either use the 1-Click TagPanel on the newpost/reply screen or you type in the tag, which is "<!t>[tab]<!/t>", without the quotes.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    To post sample code "verbatim" (ie, with indentation for stuff like If/Else structures, in a fixed width font) you may want to use the HTML "pre" tags from Markup Tag Panel. Example:

    <pre>[pre]</pre>

    Paste your code here<pre></pre>

    [/pre]

    The "pre" tags won't appear in actual use, just the text you paste between the tags. Tabs/indents in original code will display properly.
    HTH

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    I'll be - I learn something every day on the Lounge! <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30>
    Wendell

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Entering a tab in a post

    Thanks Charlotte, that will be good for coding "on the fly" posts.
    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Hi Mark, thanks for that too, particularly in the case you describe.
    This gets better and better.
    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>Pat

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    Wendell, I find it hard to believe that as an esteemed WMVP, this is "news" to you. Surely thou jest!

    Trivia note: The HTML "pre" element, or tag, originated in HTML v. 2.0, and stands for pre-formatted text. It tells the browser to render characters and spaces as formatted in the source text or document, in a monospace font.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    To be honest, HTML is not something I've worked at very hard! <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>
    Wendell

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Select from 1st Combo box limits list in 2nd combo (97 sr2)

    >> [ post=this post, 152081 <<

    I've got to start writing these down. Thanks!
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •