Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dubai, UAE, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    My IPAQ suffers from Altitude Sickness

    G'day All

    Look - I know this is weird. But I have this problem again and again and again - far more repeatable than any problem I have on my desktop. Here we go ...

    I am an airline pilot. I use my IPAQ 3870 extensively - Excel, HPC Notes, Pocket Informant and more. My life revolves around this thing. On the ground it's a Gem. Bluetooth to My Nokia 6310 to GPRS works a treat.

    But when I take it into an aeroplane, then pull it out in cruise, it slows to a crawl. It is literally unusable.

    I've hard reset and re-installed. Memory is fine.

    Any suggestions ?

    Regards Ken Pascoe

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: My IPAQ suffers from Altitude Sickness

    Is it trying to talk to all of the devices it can find on the plane?
    Not just the ones the passengers have out in the cabin, but all of the ones in front of you. It may be trying to talk to the plane.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dubai, UAE, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: My IPAQ suffers from Altitude Sickness

    No, Bluetooth is turned off and infra red is not active. This problems starts right from power on/reset with a slow paint of the today screen and gigabar.
    Ken

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    750
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: My IPAQ suffers from Altitude Sickness

    You might double check the IR. On a 2002 device go to Start | Setings | Connections | Beam and take out the check (if any).

    The problem sure sounds environmental. Either electromagnetic or maybe atmospheric pressure. Does the device work when you're out of the cockpit? Can you try another device? I don't suppose it's practical to take the aircraft instruments off line one at a time to see if that makes a difference [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dubai, UAE, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: My IPAQ suffers from Altitude Sickness

    OK - Rom Update 2.20 and the problems gone - along with a few other issues.
    Thanks for your comments people.
    Regards Ken

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •