Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No Stand by (Home XP)

    It seems like all I ever post on here are dumb questions. But they always get answered!

    I have somehow managed to change some setting so that when I try to put my laptop into stand by, it won't let me. Normally, there are the three buttons to choose from when shutting down...I only have 2. Any ideas on how to change this back?

    Thanks!

    Ruth <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    You might first check the Power Options selection in Control Panel to see if something has accidently gotten changed. However, I can't duplicate your problem and I don't think something in Power Options would cause the Standby button to be greyed out. Please post back after you look. We might have to check further.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    Nope, that's not it. I checked the Power Options when it first started acting up.

    Ruth <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    Check out [url]http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q188134[url]

    Standby Missing From Windows Shutdown Dialog Box (Q188134)

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    Ruthie~

    Although the Microsoft link above is for Me & 98, the things to check for are the same. If you've never had it, then I would check my BIOS and disable all of the power management there and allow Windows to manage it under your control. This has occurred with my laptop and was resolved in this manner.

    If you had it and now you don't, that would indicate a problem best resolved step-by-step per the link DaveA posted, provided those steps function for XP as well.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    Bruce makes an excellent point I had forgotten about, Ruth. When I first got my laptop and was having trouble with the thing not wanting to "wake back up," the first thing the Gateway tech told me was to disable power management in the BIOS and let Windows handle it.

    If you're not comfortable with, or have never done, BIOS changes or the hardware stuff in the MS article, you really ought to get some help. Don't know if you've got a local friend or guru or if you'd have to let (get) the laptop manufacturer to walk you through it, but you just need to be careful, especially in the BIOS!

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    This article either:
    a) doesn't work for XP
    or
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] doesn't work for me

    I had standby originally for about 6 months, but it just randomly became grayed out recently. So, I don't think it's a BIOS issue. Plus, Dad (SammyB) and I can't figure out how to get into the BIOS in XP.

    Any more suggestions?

    Ruth <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    Your system's BIOS doesn't have anything to do with Win XP, Ruthie. It's before the OS ever loads. When you first turn on the power or reboot, and the computer puts its first few lines of self-test info on the screen, most computers will ONLY let you into the BIOS at that point. Can't do it later.

    Again, don't know about yours, but on most PCs a message will be on the screen, only for a couple of seconds, telling you to press DEL, or F1 or F2 to enter SETUP. But remember, you need to be careful in there. Changing a value could do something unexpected or bad.

    So, you tried deleting like the article said, and letting Windows "re-discover" your hardware?

    Good luck.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    I know what the BIOS is. The problem is how to get into it in XP. When my computer boots, it shows a screen with Compaq on it, a black screen, and then loads XP. It never gives me the option of entering setup. I've tried pressing keys to see if it will let me in, but nothing's worked.

    Ruth <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    Compaq PCs use the F10 key to enter setup mode. You have to type it at a particular point in the Startup sequence, usually whilst there is a white cursor at the top right hand side of the screen.

    Setup mode usually makes use of a diagnostic partition on the hard drive, if you have deleted this partition then you may need to use drastic steps to recover it.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Stand by (Home XP)

    <hr>I know what the BIOS is. The problem is how to get into it in XP.<hr>
    Not to beat a dead horse on the BIOS issue but from reading the thread I think you are misunderstanding what Al was saying. You cannot get to the PC's BIOS from Windows XP. Nor can you do it from Windows 98, NT, or any other flavor of Windows. The BIOS doesn't know what Windows is, and doesn't care - it checks the system's main functions and passes control on to the OS - in your case, Windows XP.

    The BIOS is what you see when you first turn the PC on. In your case, a Compaq logo, in other cases, it can show a memory check and other diagnostic information. Follow Stuart's advice immediately after turning the PC on. If you see a black XP screen with any graphical things at all, you've gone too far. You may not see the prompt to enter setup, but that is usually an option that can be turned on or off in the BIOS - usually to prevent the office mate with a tweaking thumb from noticing, tweaking, and suddenly their PC is <img src=/S/hosed.gif border=0 alt=hosed width=73 height=24>.

    Sadly, this doesn't necessarily mean that you will find what you're looking for either. Try checking Wim's BIOS page for information on how power management works at this low level.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •