Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Display problem on start-up

    Here's a strange problem that I just started having on one of my machines. It seems to have started just after installing the Serene Scene Aquarium screen saver. Shortly after starting to use the screen saver, my computer began locking up and responding to everything very slowly. Upon restarting, I got the normal start-up screens until it got to what would be the login screen. At that point, the monitor went black. After some playing around, I found that even though the monitor was black, the computer really was at the login screen waiting for me to login. By using Alt-Tab, I was able to get to the password entry box, type in my password and hit enter. As soon as I did that, the monitor flicked back on and the computer continued starting up normally.
    I've checked all of the power management and monitor settings I can find, but nothing seems to affect this - any ideas???

    Thanks,
    Gary

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem on start-up

    I would get rid of the screen saver.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem on start-up

    Sorry, I forgot to mention that. The first time I had the blank screen come up on restart, I didn't realize what was happening, so I restarted into safe mode and uninstalled the screensaver, hoping that that was the problem. Unfortunately, that didn't change anything. I have also tried changing my display and power saving settings but that didn't have any effect either.
    One other odd thing I came across that seems to have been changed at the same time that this problem occurred, the hardware acceleration setting for graphics was changed to "none" instead of "full".
    As much as I would like to blame the screensaver for all of this, I don't see ho it could have affected all of these things (besides, I have the same screensaver installed on a nearly identical machine with no problems whatsoever).
    One more clue to this mystery, when my monitor goes blank, I hear a "click" similar to the sound the monitor makes when it goes to sleep, however, the power light doesn't change from green to amber as it does when the monitor does go to sleep. After I enter the password and the monitor comes back on, I hear a "click" again, and the screen appears slowly, as if I had just turned the monitor on.
    Is there perhaps a registry setting or a win.ini or system.ini command that could be switching the monitor (or the computer's video output) off and on?

    Gary

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem on start-up

    Since this seems to have started after installing the screensaver, I would have thought that this would be the first place to look.

    You might also check out the power management settings in the control panel, that can affect what might seem as "asleep" and "awake" modes.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem on start-up

    I've checked all of the power management settings I can find, and none of them seem to affect this. It seems to me that is must be in the registry, or in Win.ini or system.ini since it happens as soon as Windows starts, but goes away as soon as I login.

    Gary
    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display problem on start-up

    Hi Gary,
    First thing I would do is set your display back to its default settings you had before and then do a complete shutdown and restart just to see if your settings are sticking, or changing back to the "bad" settings.
    Most programs are very badly coded when it comes to the uninstall process. (Even Microsoft is guilty of this trait!)
    If you're comfortable cruising the registry, I'll list the path to get to the guilty directory below. Also, do a scan for the program name and the program maker in the registry search window. Before you do anything though, make a backup copy of your registry!!!! Details below...

    TO get into the registry editor, type in the following without the arrow into your "Run" application in the start menu----> regedit

    From the registry, backup your registry by doing the following. Once the registry editor is open, go to the file tab at the top of the screen, and choose export. Choose a destination for the file (The desktop is a good spot) give it a name and choose save.

    Next, you need to see if this program left trash in the run directory, so go to the following key. If you see the bad key just highlight it it and delete it. Follow this path ---->HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrent VersionRun

    If it is not in there, then do a scan of the registry for the software name and manufacturer by going to the top of the window and choosing ---> Edit ---> then choosing "find". Type in the software name or manufacturer name and hit search. Every key it finds that matches that softwares name or manufacturer, delete it. **Hint** The F3 button will auto jump to the next matching registry entry name.
    Once this is done and the registry is purged, reboot to a total shutdown.
    Make sure there are no entries in the start menu or in the msconfig (From the Run command, type in ----> msconfig and hit enter. Choose the Start tab and look to see if the software is still set to run on bootup. Also while in there cleanout any other junk that might be slowing or conflicting with the system. i.e. other screen savers, ICQ, application files, the usual junk that software leaves behind)

    Hopes this helps bud!

    Jeff McGeown
    A+, CCNA, MCSE, NET+
    DCS COnsultants

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •