Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: partioning

  1. #1
    roscoe
    Guest

    partioning

    Anybody know how to resize a partion on an NT 4.0 server without destroying data?? The only product I've seen fro NT server is Powerquest ServerMagic which sounds good but costs $700+. Any other suggestions??

    Roscoe

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    You could copy all the data to another drive, delete and resize the partition through Disk Admin then copy it back.
    Or do a (verified) back-up, resize and restore.

  4. #3
    roscoe
    Guest

    Re: partioning

    But what if it is your system partition?? You can't just copy it back and forth from disk to disk. Perhaps Norton Ghost of system partition, format and resize, then Ghost back?! Risky but might work...

    Roscoe

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    ...then I fear Ghost or a backup may be your only option.
    I assume you wanting to make your system partition bigger rather than a logical drive? Otherwise it may be just as cheap to buy another HD.

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    i've used partiton magic to resize an NT server with NTFS partition, BUT technet and personal experience says the boot partition should be 7 gigs or less otherwise you'll run into system problems and data loss.

    Mike Wolfman
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: partioning

    I understand that the newest version of Ghost, at least the enterprise version, will work directly on NTFS. Unfortunately, earlier versions of Ghost would not run directly on NT because they were actually a DOS-based program.
    Charlotte

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    yes, i uase ghost frequently with NT, the only issue is you need either a second HD or an external device to image the drive to and from.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  9. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: partioning

    Oh, I've used it on NT drives, but I couldn't use it directly from an NT box with no DOS partition. I don't have the latest version, but I was told it worked without the DOS partition.
    Charlotte

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    Depend on thefile system, lets say you have a 4 gig drive, all NT with an NTFS partition. In order to image this, first you need to boot to dos. You cannot see the partition (without utilities) from dos, BUT Ghost will see it and image it as long as you have another device to image it to. It will not image to itself, even if you have the space because you can't read or write to NTFS from dos.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    Just as a matter of interest:
    Partition Magic is not supposed to work on NT Server - you use Server Magic for that.
    Now, is that just a limitation on the software or is there some hardware related or other more fundamental reason?
    I know you can create a DOS disk to boot PM off, so that you can work on NTFS drives (?) - so could that not be used on NT Server?
    Just curious.....

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    I have used PM for NT wrk and servers, the only limit I know of is the 7 gig limit.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  13. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: partioning

    I'm aware of that. However, I recently ran into problems using Ghost 2000 to image my 13 gig, 2 partition NTFS HD over to a new 20 gig. The DOS boot was taking place from still another drive. We finally had to reformat the new drive, do a clean install of NT and then Ghost the individual partitions over. Then we used PM to tweak the partition sizes. Fortunately, I have a really patient reseller who learns a lot from working on my hardware and software.[img]/w3timages/icons/crazy.gif[/img]
    Charlotte

  14. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: partioning

    oh...I haven't used Ghost 2k yet, i use 6.0 enterprise... it might be a bug in ghost 2k... <shrug>
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •