Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    VBA code Window (A2k2)

    I am trying to re-arrange the code window.

    I seem to remember that at some stage, I hade the Local, Immediate & Watch Windows split vertically at the foot of the screen.

    Now I have them split horizontally. As they are mostly empty, or at least short, I would like to get them back to their previous state.

    The Window commands don't allow this, neither do the View commands. If I drag one of the Windows, I can float it the way I want, but I can't get it to dock.

    Aany suggestions please

    Thanks

    Colin

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    Arranging these windows the way you like is a <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> nuisance, but it can be done. You have to drag a window by its title bar and watch very carefully how the dotted outline changes as you drag it around. Its form changes when your mouse cursor is over or near the border of a docked window to indicate how the dragged window will be positioned. When it seems right, drop the window - you can always drag it away again if needed. The width of the repositioned window will probably be wrong - you might up with an extremely narrow or wide window, but you can correct that by dragging the splitter between the windows.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    Hans

    I have tried this and I can get it to dock, but only with the immediate window above (or below) the locals one.

    I'd like them side by side, as I'm pretty sure they were before.

    This way I get the optimum size for the locals, immediate & code windows.

    Colin

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    Colin,

    As I wrote, it's a <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> nuisance - when I try to rearrange windows in the VBE, I always get irritated. The windows end up floating, or docked the wrong way most of the time, so it takes many tries.

    I managed to take a screenshot of the situation just before docking the upper window titled "Lokale var." (= Local, sorry for the Dutch captions) to the left side of the lower window titled "Direct" (= Immediate). You can see part of the dotted outline of the dragged window, and the position of the mouse cursor. It's very tricky to get it right, but not impossible. Release the mouse button slightly more to the right and the window gets docked above the other one again. Release the mouse button slightly more than the left and the window gets docked to the left, but as tall as the entire client area of the VBE window.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    Hans

    Thanks

    I tried again, and managed to get the window the full height of the vbe window on the left as you hinted.

    However.

    I tried a bit harder, and discovered. If you select the lower of the two windows that you want to dock, then go to the far right of the screen, it works every time. It doesn't appear to do so if tyou tyry & move the top one.

    I even felt confident enough to undock it a few times and test it.

    Thanks very much for your help.

    Colin

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    Getting the VBE windows to dock correctly can be a real struggle. To arrange them the way I think you want them I did this: Started with Project Explorer & Properties windows docked on left with Code window maximized on right. Opened Locals, Immediate, and Watches windows as three small floating windows. Before trying to dock them at bottom of Code window, you have to dock them vertically in one floating window (see attached illustration). To do this drag Immediate towards Locals till they dock vertically in a floating window above Code window. Repeat with Watches. Resize this floating window to appx width of Code window, then drag ALL the way to bottom of Code window. When you get all the way to Windows taskbar this floating window will FINALLY dock itself in main VBE window, with Locals, Immediate, & Watches tiled vertically below Code Window, with Project Explorer & Properties reamining docked at left. If you try to dock these windows one at a time you will get undesired results where they are docked horizontally across width of Code window.

    HTH
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    Mark

    I had a play with your suggetsion and it seems to work well also.

    I haven't found how to save the settings however. I have managed to get one update saved, although I do not know how I managed it.

    However, I've now docked the properties & Project Windows to the left of the upper half of the VBE window, and that is I believe how the default setting was. But I can't get it to save.

    Colin

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: VBA code Window (A2k2)

    I don't have problem "saving" settings after rearranging VBE windows. Far as I can tell the VBE "remembers" windows settings. If you close VBE & close Access, then reopen Access the VBE windows should be arranged the same way as when closed. With exception of abnormal program termination don't know why settings would not be saved.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •