Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ADO Data Control (Office 97 VBA)

    I am trying to put the following on a VBA user form:
    Microsoft ADO Data Control 6 (SP4) (OLEDB)
    The problem is it tells me that it is not properly licensed. How can I a) get the license upgrade quickly or [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] Use another control to pull extract data from an SQL database

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ADO Data Control (Office 97 VBA)

    Do you have VB6 Pro? The license comes with that. What app are you trying to use it in? Office 97 is based on VB5, and the ADODC is new to VB6, so you may run into problems trying to mix the two.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ADO Data Control (Office 97 VBA)

    Charlotte

    Many thanks for your response. Unfortunately we do not have VB6 (only VB5). The application that I am trying this in is word 97(!) We are trying to add a field to a VBA user form that will pickup a unique id no. from an SQL db - have you got any ideas how this might be achieved?

    Regards

    Jason

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ADO Data Control (Office 97 VBA)

    Was there a reason for trying to use the ADO Data control? There was a DAO data control that came with VB5 (it's still there in VB6 as well). You could try using that.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: ADO Data Control (Office 97 VBA)

    I think that whatever happens inside a control that you manipulate by setting properties can be accomplished in code. If you need to run a query to retrieve a single field value to populate a textbox, particularly if you then can disconnect from the data source, you probably would do better without the control. But this would mean spending a little more time learning the ADO or DAO syntax to access the database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •