Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tampico, Tamps, Mexico
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    how I can delete an option of my menu "tools", it were added after to have opened a page?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Can you explain what you mean ?
    Do you mean something other than the normal Tools option as below?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (3.0 KB, 0 views)

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Hi,
    If you mean that a new item has been added on the Tools menu dropdown list, then I think the only way to get rid of it is by removing the relevant key from HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerExtensions in the registry.
    All the usual warnings apply if you are going to do this - I'd certainly recommend exporting any key you're going to delete so that you can import it back if necessary.
    Hope that helps.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tampico, Tamps, Mexico
    Posts
    118
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Yes, (see the image)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    (Q258657) - suggests how one might go about adding missing items to the tools bar in Internet Explorer. The fix entails editing your registry. It stands to reason that if this is the process to add missing items, the same process might be used to remove an item.

    You might do a search in your registry by:

    clicking START, RUN...
    type REGEDIT, hit RETURN.

    within regedit, you can click on EDIT, FIND...

    type in "??? ??? ???" then hit ENTER.

    The system will peruse the registry looking for a key with this text. Once you find it, you could remove it, but this is quite bizarre, and might be a symptom of a greater problem. Removing this item from your registry will likely cure the problem, but likely won't remove whatever put that item there in the first place.

    IF you decide to remove it, please make sure you backup your registry first. Minor changes like this can have drastic effects on the performance of your system, and you can't undo whatever you've done unless you back everything up first.

    Click on REGISTRY then EXPORT REGISTRY FILE...
    I'd recommend saving this file to my docs or another location which you can easily remember.

    You can try removing the key to see if the symptom disappears, but I would recommend a re-installation of Internet Explorer. It's hard to say what caused this to appear, but it may have other ramifications within the system.

    Hope this helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    The *easy* way is to hit View/Toolbars/Customize and then find the button you want to remove in the list on the right and click Remove.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Eh, but that is not a button... ;-]

    You may be able to locate the entry by searching the registry for "???..." - or maybe not. Regardless, all of the added IE Tools entries will be listed here in the registry:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerExtensions

    Each entry will have a key (folder) with a long series of numbers in braces as it's 'name'. Generally, if you click on the correct folder, it will have a "Menu Text" value with the ???'s as its data. Delete the entire folder (after backing it up) and the entry will be gone.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Holy mackerel! Maybe you should disable ActiveX controls or at least set them to prompt. Maybe active scripting as well. What else did that page do to your system? I am increasingly amazed and alarmed at the "openness" of Internet Explorer... thank goodness we bar ActiveX downloads at the firewall.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Oops, I was looking at the Toolbar instead of the Menu. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hornsby Heights, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,822
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Doesn't View|Toolbars|Customize and then <Reset> do the trick ?
    Cheers, Claude.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    I think that would reset the ToolBar only -- not the drop down menus. The "Tools" drop down menus are controlled in the registry -- where I have indicated above. I have added and subtracted many entries over the past several years...

    Jeff -- I would not suspect ActiveX in this case, but instead Active Scripting. Make sure that site is in the Restricted sites zone -- and of course, I recommend a more "Disabled" Internet zone for everyone...

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: added in menu 'tools' (IE 5.5)

    Mmmm... yes, it could be a script writing to the Registry (Adding Menu Items). This must be done, though, through another object, such as the Windows Script Host. WSH should be marked "unsafe for scripting," and therefore an effective way to prevent a script from accessing it would be to lock off WSH and other dangerous controls by disabling ActiveX controls deemed "unsafe for scripting." You could go further, of course, but that functionality/security trade-off cuts more deeply.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •