Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Display Properties - Appearance

    We are using Windows NT - we have just upgraded one of our packages that a
    handful of our users use. Since the upgrade, one of the display pages is
    displayed in black as opposed to pale yellow (prior to the upgrade it was
    just a white screen and we had no problems). I have spoken to the product
    providers (apparently we are the only users who appear to have had this
    problem) and they have advised that we require to change a setting in the
    Control Panel - Display - Appearance - change the Scheme to "Windows
    Standard". I have done this (also clicked on the Save As button) and when I
    go in to the package, the page is displayed perfectly in the correct colour.
    However, when I reboot the pc and go back in, it has reverted back to how it
    originally was and I have to go back in to the Display Properties and change
    the scheme each time.

    Would anyone be able to help me as to where I should be going to ensure that
    the changes I make in the Display Properties are saved on exit?

    Many thanks in anticipation of any help received.

    Regards,
    Angela

    <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display Properties - Appearance

    Is this happening on more than one installation?
    Are you on a network? - if so are any policies set that may force a specific configuration on log-in?
    What service pack?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display Properties - Appearance

    Leif,

    Many thanks for your reply. It is happening on all installations. We are on a network and there are policies set. We are on Service Pack 6a.

    I have attempted to add the users who use this software to a new Group in the Policy Editor - I went to Shell - Restrictions and took the tick out of "Don't Save Settings on Exit", enabled the Display Panel and under Desktop - Colors - removed the default setting we had put in and left it blank. I had thought that doing all this would allow me to then make the changes to the scheme and that it would save that setting, but unfortunately not? It may be that I am making the wrong changes in the Policy Editor.

    Does this information help?

    Many thanks,
    Angela

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display Properties - Appearance

    I'm afraid policies are not a strong point of mine - our (small) network needs only two types of user, (Administrator and User) - so I may be of limited help.
    But...
    Are your users members of different groups? I have a recollection from somewhere that the permissions work in the order that the groups are set. That is, if a user is a member of Group A which allows them to do something and a member of Group B which does not allow them, you need to list them in order so that they are a member of Group A after Group B.
    Does that make sense?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display Properties - Appearance

    Leif,

    I have just tried moving the Group priorities around - I am just about to leave the office so will test it tomorrow and I'll let you know how it goes.

    Thanks again,
    Angela

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Display Properties - Appearance

    Leif

    Unfortunately, on testing this, it does not appear to have worked. Although my Group is only second in line, the Group ahead of it has the same settings on the sections I have changed. Thanks for your help in the meantime however.

    Regards,
    Angela

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •