Thread: VBA Events

Lounger
    Thanks

VBA Events

I am a real VBA newbie! I am writing a small application containing several tables and forms. For one form in particular, I want to prevent the creation of duplicate records. I have coded a dlookup command in the "Before Update" event for a combo box control. This is working correctly. My problem is that even though I am setting cancel = -1 when I detect that a record has been found via the dlookup, I can't seem to cancel the insertion of the record.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a good web resource that discusses all VBA events and the order in which they are triggered? I really need to read up on this to understand fully. Any suggestions to cancel the insertion of the duplicate record would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, in advance.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: VBA Events

This belongs here in Access if that's what you're using, since you don't actually have tables in the database sense of the word unless you're working with a database product. If you're using Access rather than SQL Server for your tables, just create a unique index in the table and include the field or fields that you want to occur no more than once in the table. You don't have to write any code to do that.

As for why your code isn't working, you'll have to post it so someone can tell you.
    Charlotte

Lounger
    Thanks

Charlotte:

Thanks for the reply.

I had initially done that but couldn't figure out how to handle the resulting error programatically. I would like to display my own message box. Because I couldn't figure out how to trap the particular error code, I finally ended up writing my own code.

Thanks.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks