Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Strange Module Behavior (ACC97-SR2)

    I'm having some unusual goings on in my modules lately.
    The script seems to truncate itself before I complete the line (it automatically backspaces before I can write more code).
    Even key words like If show up red then I enter a space and it automatically backspaces.
    AND after I enter Me.(something) the pop up list lasts only a second and then disappears, even if I continue typing!! <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>

    I am suspecting that auto-shutdown set-up we've been bandying about lately.
    You know, the Peterssoftware one where the system timer detects mouse and key inactivity, then shuts the whole app down!

    I installed it two days ago and it hasn't been the same since.

    Anyone else have similar issues like this before? <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>
    The Post

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Strange Module Behavior (ACC97-SR2)

    If you're referring to the db download (thepost) which I presume you are, check out frmInactiveShutDown.

    Its timer interval is set to 1000 which translates to 1 second.

    This may be your problem.

    I would also presume that the Inactive db needs to be running to allow you to update your db.
    How about trying it another way: -

    Run the db to kick the users out, then close the inactive db down its self to allow you to continue.

    Just thoughts !!!


    Dave


    Just an after thought, go to any module, check out Tools|Options and un check Auto Syntax Check ???

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Strange Module Behavior (ACC97-SR2)

    Seems like I had this problem once also. I think it was related to using a timer in a form.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Strange Module Behavior (ACC97-SR2)

    Thanks folks,
    Yeah,
    I'll just rename the autoExec macro so it doesn't load
    Then
    Do my work <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Strange Module Behavior (ACC97-SR2)

    Here's one that happened to me : Is the "Insert" button on your keyboard on?

    Michael

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Strange Module Behavior (ACC97-SR2)

    No, that couldn't be it. Although I did have to think twice about it.
    Insert works inside a string and replaces characters to the right already present in the string.
    My situation went backward.
    As you type, the space character, and ONLY the space character to the left was being overwritten.
    Now, why it worked that way, is a mystery to me.
    What I do know is that since I've disabled the auto exec macro that launches the shut-down script
    I've had no problems and that's a good enough solution for me.
    Thanks for the input

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •