Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Trying to find the command line "argument?" to open Outlook Express 6.0.
    I did find the program files and shortcut it to desktop which is what I
    wanted to do in the first place, but am trying to figure out what to
    use to open OE from the command line.

    Thanks,

    defrag

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    C:<pathtoexe>msimn.exe ? there are no switches AFAIK, just the exe.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Thanks, MJ. Pasted it in and I got the file is non-accessible. "The file name, volume
    name, or syntax are incorrect." There has to be a way(s). By the way I asked
    months ago about Outlook's calendar because I had done this but couldn't remember.
    I got some file paths, but I couldn 't make them work and slipstick references, and
    couldn't make them work but outlook:Calendar in the command line will bring it up
    right away, and then searching for that file and sending it to the desktop puts a
    calendar shortcut on the desktop. I'm sure there are more ways. I did it another
    way with my Windows ME installation.

    defrag

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Did you replace the <pathtoexe> with the actual path to your copy of msimn.exe?

    If you don't know where it is, run a search for [/b]msimn.exe[/b] and see the path shown in the column marked "In Folder"

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Yes it sure nails it. Thanks both of you. With big learning curve just trying
    to understand file paths better and to use command line and dos prompt
    more. And time wise, it opens up more quickly I believe. I'm going to
    check this, and if it does I'll want to figure out why. I wish I could understand
    function of all the dlls in the program files and other icons. Right clicking them
    and hitting properties and loooking up the file definition is some help.
    C:Program FilesOutlook Expressmsimn.exe brings it right up.
    Sorry I didn't pick up what MJ meant first time.

    defrag

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Just for completeness...

    I use outlook for email and OE for news, I have a shortcut to msimn.exe with the switch <font color=blue>/newsonly</font color=blue>.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Stuart--
    What are you putting in the command line, because I know you mean by
    the "switch" newsworthy that part of the command after the slash, but I put
    in msimn.exe/newsworthy and C:Program FilesOutlook Expressmsimn.exe/newsworthy
    and C:Program FilesOutlook Expressmsimn.exenewsworthy . I have to learn
    some basic dos, so I'm not sure how you do this command or where.
    I'm also betting that you would never mix a slash and a back slash to represent
    the root directory in a path name, but I don't know. I was trying to apply
    what you just added.

    Thanks,

    defrag

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    The switch I use is <font color=blue>/newsonly</font color=blue> not <font color=blue>/newsworthy</font color=blue>. The entire shortcut looks like
    <pre> "C:Program FilesOutlook Expressmsimn.exe" /newsonly
    </pre>

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    /outnews does the same thing, but changes the title bar.

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Thanks. I am confused about whether newsgroups or newsreading could also be done
    from Outlook, and which is better. If those could be done from Outlook, wouldn't that
    offer unity by doing those two things from one application?

    defrag

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    outlook uses outlook express for the news reader.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    Does Outlook also use OLE for newsgroups --meaning could it access
    newsgroups without OLE--just curious?

    Thanks,

    defrag

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening OE6 from Command Line (OE6/WXP Pro 5.1)

    not sure i follow the question - outlook can not access newsgroups period, it uses OE loaded with the /outnews swtich to read news and change the banner to say 'outlook newsreader'. Like the /newsonly switch, it loads only news, not the mail portion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •