Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 62

Thread: ZoneAlarm 3.1

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    ZoneAlarm 3.1

    New version of ZA has been posted. One MUST use the "Check for update" process from the Configure tab.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Oh boy, it's been a number of (many) months since I tried ZA, Dave. I can't remember if ZA and McAfee antivirus "play well" together. Do you know if they get along OK? (Until such time as I'm able to go back to AVG).

    On my home system, I have a Linksys DSL router and I think I read where Linksys and ZA have cooked up a mutual deal, so I don't guess I've got to worry about that, huh?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Does ZA have a required AV component or can one use just the firewall and continue w/ current AV program?

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Indeed you can run both. And you should. Firewalls protect against a different kind of attack than AV software does. ZA won't require anything in the way of antivirus scanning. I had it working smoothly with Norton AV 2002 and Microsoft Outlook. Norton caught the virii, ZoneAlarm quarantined suspicious file types in a manner much better than Microsoft's rather overdone approach. That continues to be my experience with Outpost firewall at home. All that, and hardware firewalling in the Linksys Router too. No problems.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Okay, great! I will try it out! (The image above gave me the impression initially that it was AV as well.)

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    You may be happy to know that I've been using AVG with ZA on my XPP system since its inception and they work in perfect harmony.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    In the absence of Dave, I figured what the heck! I downloaded and installed ZA and went through the initial permissions settings (browser, mailwasher, tardis, etc.). During that process, ZA told me that Messenger, SVCHOST.EXE and SERVICES.EXE were asking for permission to access the internet. Even though I don't use Messenger, and I assume the other two (until I learn otherwise) are Win XP components, so I said OK. Anybody think I shouldn't do this?

    I put the IP addresses of my in-home machines and my NIC in "trusted" state (I don't use DHCP) but later ZA was giving me a warning that my machine was trying to contact one of the DNS numbers of my ISP. I believe that must have been my Linksys router, so I added its IP address to my trusted zone and I'll just watch to see if that solves it. Comments?

    This may have been a fluke of Mozilla, but I don't think so - I told ZA to go get the upgrade that Dave mentioned and while the download was running, I was reading the instruction for installation on the screen. They say to shutdown ZA prior to installing. Makes sense, but because I was reading, I didn't notice how quickly the download seemed to finish. Turns out it ABORTED. Tried again - abort. Next time, I SHUTDOWN ZA prior to clicking the download button and it worked OK. For the information of it, the downloaded file name is ZASETUP3125.EXE, but when you install it you really are getting version 3.1.291

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Hope all is well with all of your systems. My is still running just fine and I did a upgrade vs. a clean install. All of my settings were retained.

    AS for the screen shot, it was the one I had open at the time, as thoses that uising this new version you will see several different panes. I just wanted to show the new general layout.

    I have been running ZA and Nortons on a 4 computer p2p networks for several years and have NOT had any problems. I don NOT know about McAffee, as I will not allow any product with that name on any of my systems. They get deleted if they come on a new machine.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    I just paid for ZAPro. It includes e-mail virus scans and a place to block pop-up ads. I don't know enough to know if this is adequate by itself.

    It included a separate program called PEST PATROL which is supposed to scan your computer for trojans etc. Unfortunately this one sometimes causes my computer to freeze.

    But what I really like is being able to trace down the attempts to access my computer. Why in the world would someone in SouthAfrica want to contact my computer? Now my curiosity wants to contact the dude to find out what is going on. Trouble is that would give him positive feedback on his access attempt and i don't want to do that.

    This is probably in ZA info somewhere but I am wondering what happens at the other end when ZA refuses a contact. Does it tell them "refused" "unavailable" "nosuch" or "dropdead". How about a message saying "A second attempt to contact this computer will result in your system being fried?"

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Hi
    ZAPro : You may have noticed, you have Read Only privileges in the Lounge Forums if you have Cookie controls set to Medium or higher.
    It does the best job of any program I know at blocking pop-up and banner ads.
    Enable Stealth Mode. This means any probe will not be acknowledged, nor will it find you. Your ports are totally invisible to any snooper.
    If you want to find out (and report) these probers get Zone Log Analyser - its not free but it is inexpensive. here
    (Don't forget to enable 'Log Alerts')

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    When you get 'er installed, Bruce, you'll see a description that says their mail checking is ONLY watching for .VBS attachments. Says it will quarantine them if it see one. But I think your AVG already does that..

    For Dave:
    <hr>I don NOT know about McAffee, as I will not allow any product with that name on any of my systems. They get deleted if they come on a new machine.
    <hr>
    Funny how that goes. I've had those same sentiments about so-called Norton's stuff, ever since the days when Peter Norton sold out. Remove it, remove it, quickly <img src=/S/puke.gif border=0 alt=puke width=60 height=15>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    I have installed it and it is up & running. Upgrade was denied as servers were busy and directed to try later. Tried every hour for 7 hours and same response, so I suppose I will try later tonight when traffic reduced. Seems to be working pretty good, although I have noticed my page loads are slower. There are a few things that I was trying to learn, but help often sent me to the ZA site to but another product. I guess I will figure it out.

    Al ~ I disabled the e-mail scanning and will just let AVG handle that.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Peter Norton may have sold out but he is on the board of directors and still has his hands on some of the research. The way McAfee takes over a machine and will slow things down is NOT for me.
    In my book, the only thing worst than a machine with McAfee is one with AOL on it also and the machine was made by Compaq.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    Couldn't have said it better myself. Those are the three shoddiest software/personal computer products around. Norton isn't a model of wonder, their tech support is at times bone-headed and sometimes downright ignorant. I don't want to get into a flame war, but I have only one voice in this stuff with manufacturers - and that's to take my money down the street. I don't expect perfection, but I do expect things to work!!
    -Mark

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 3.1

    As an aside, I believe it was Steve Gibson of SpinRite fame who tracked a hacker's address back, found that he had shared a printer to the Internet, and sent a print job to the effect of "We Know What You're Doing, Knock It Off" to the printer. The attacks promptly ceased. This is not to suggest that you or I or any other mere mortal will ever be so lucky as to find an open printer on the web, but you never know.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •