Banned Member
    Thanks

XP Pro (Shuttle AV18S98I Award Bios)

My Mother Board is about one & a half years old. Should I try to get an upgrade to the Bios? I found one on the net but I have never done anything like Bios Flash before . It seems kind of complicated. I know that when I reboot I see something called AWDFLASH (F2 key). Is that something you would use to do a Bios Flash? And Is it worth the time and trouble? Will it help?

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: XP Pro (Shuttle AV18S98I Award Bios)

My machine is about 5 years old (pII 450 m) and I have not needed or done a bios upgrade. I would NOT unless you have some softawre or hardware that would require it.

If it is not broke don't NOT fix it.

Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

The first rule of the BIOS: If it ain't broke.....don't fix it.

BIOS upgrades are released for two primary reasons. In most cases, it's to fix bugs in the BIOS code that affect the way your computer operates. If your machine acts flaky in some way, look at the release notes for the BIOS revisions to see if that particular issue is addressed. If your computer is running well, leave it alone, because a BIOS upgrade can leave you without a booting PC.

The actual flashing process is pretty simple. First, you format a floppy disk with DOS so that your computer can boot with it (creating a "system disk"). Note - the boot disks for Windows NT, 2000, and XP won't work! Second, you copy (or extract from the ZIP file) the BIOS image file (xxxxx.BIN, xxxxx.AWD, etc) to the disk, and boot with your new floppy. Then you run the BIOS flash program, which on your computer is built in, and specify the BIOS image name when asked.