Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Work Command (Word 2000)

    I have added the WORK command to my toolbar and have enjoyed the ease of adding documents used daily to the menu so they are readily available and can be opened easily. However, when I added my 10th document, it dropped the last one on the list -- so it appears I can only add 9 documents. Is there any way to configure it so that more can be added?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    I'm not sure I know what you are referring to by the Work command. When I go to customize - view all commands, I do not see a Work command listed. Is this supposed to be similar to the recently used file list? Are you using any outside applications with Word in your environment (like a document management system)?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    The WORK command is located under the Built-In Menus category. You can drag the command to your toolbar and save documents to it. I'm not using any outside applications with Word. Does this info help?

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Well, I wasn't familiar with it, but I look at it and it seems to be similar to the recently used file list, except that you get to choose which files you have listed - I agree, it's a nifty little thing to have on the toolbar.

    As for your question, I suspect that 9 is the limit for the number of documents you can show. The recently used file list limit is 9, and they are so similar, I suspect it is the same. However, one other possibility is to see if you have the "Menus show recently used commands first" checkbox unchecked on the Personalized Menus and Toolbars options menu (third tab on the customize box).

    Good Luck with it, and thanks for showing me a new feature! <img src=/S/joy.gif border=0 alt=joy width=23 height=23>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Thanks for your response, and I'm glad I could show you a new feature. It really is a neat idea. I had already checked to see if the "most recently used items" feature was checked under my customized options, but it wasn't, so that does not appear to be the problem. I suspect you are right -- only 9 items can be placed there. I've never read anything stating that was the case, so I had hoped there was some way it could be set to a larger number. Oh well, guess I'll just have to create a New Menu on the toolbar and assign links and/or macros to the documents I want to be available. Thanks again.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Ya know, I doubt it would be all that hard to program a custom toolbar to do exactly that. All you would have to do is create a custom toolbar to which you could add the field code that store a file name with it's directory path names to, and then when you clicked on the file name on the toolbar, it would perform the open command on path stored in the field code. It's a bit above my programming abilities, but someone else might be able to suggest something. ANYONE?????

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    I can do that by adding New Menu to the toolbar, creating a macro to open the document, and dragging that macro to the new menu. No problem -- just a few extra steps from the Work Menu.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    This FAQ at the MVPs site confirms the limit of 9 items: How do I use, and what is, the Work menu?

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Thanks so much for the article reference. It was very informative and helpful.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Hi race,

    Ever heard of lateral thinking!

    I have just read your thread and thought - why not two Work menus - Work1 and Work2. I have just added Work2 to my menu after renaming Work to Work1, and they both seem to work fine after adding a file to Work2 and finding Work1 is not changed and they both seem to work quite independently.

    How many Work menus do you think you can fit on your menu?

    I hope you have the Excel addin which does the same in Excel - let me know and I will post it.

    Good Luck!

    Peter Moran

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Awesome -- that will "work" just great!!! And no, I don't have the Excel add-in. Would appreciate your posting it. Thanks a bunch.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    After sending my message of thanks to you, I just tried adding a second work menu and naming them Work1 and Work2. They do not work independently of each other. If an item is deleted and/or added to the Work1 menu, it is also added and/or deleted from the Work2 menu. But thanks for trying.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Girl Friday -- I wouldn't use this with a Document Management System -- the links will either be inaccurate or broken. On a stand-alone installation -- go ahead!

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Oh, I agree. that's exactly the reason we've disabled the recently used file list in Word. I just thought it was convenient for those that don't use DMS programs. If I were to use it, it would only be for the docs that I save locally. Thanks for the warning though.

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Work Command (Word 2000)

    Hi race,

    Sorry you could not get it to work as I had indicated. I changed my original Work on Word2K to Work1 before I added the second which I then changed to Work2. I can find no fault with both mine working separately. I added separate entries and they continue to be available separately. I suggest that you remove the second one and rename the first before you add the second, so that at no time do you have 2 "Work" menus on your menubar.

    As promised here is the Excel Work menu addin.

    Good Luck!

    Peter Moran
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •