Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

Opening templates

A question: Is anyone else out there (Word97/97/2000

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Opening templates

Hi Chris:

I only have one macros.dot template in my startup directory. I also notice a delay (Word2K) the first time I run a macro in a Word session. My delay is not as long (after glancing at your site, I'm sure I have far fewer macros), but it's still there.

I should point out that I'm NOT a VBA expert, so others may be able to give more insight...I'm just letting you know my observations.

Unless you need your utility templates almost all the time, then you could probably be better served by loading them as add-ins when needed. I don't know how long it takes you to load Word, but on my 600MH-Win98SE, it takes me about 4 seconds to load Word after a reboot and about 2 seconds after the first time (assuming no other running apps or resource drains); though that's with an empty document loading. [I can remember how fast I used to think Word 6 loaded on a 486SX with 4MB of ram). Having 8 utility templates plus normal.dot loading must take a bit of work.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Hi Chris

I don't think it is opening the templates that is the issue. It is probably opening the file which interprets VBA. My guess is that there are about 10 files (DLLs etc) some or all of which could be needed.

If you are on NT you might look at the running processes before and after running the first macro and see what new ones appeared.

As you say opening any macro might cause these files to open and stay open for the session. . . .or it might not.

If you are not on NT it is more difficult to look at the running processes. There is a word macro which will do this for you, but that would not help would it?
    David Grugeon
    Brisbane Australia

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

> It is probably opening the file which interprets VBA