Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi
    I have Primary Master Hard Drive which is a Samsung SV2044D 20 Gb, I have just added a JTS Corp Palladium P3850 850 Mb as a Primary Slave, mainly just to store a few files for my wife. When I boot up the BIOS detects it perfectly, but when Windows opens it does not recognise the drive unless I go to Add New Hardware then it is recognised with no problem and records it in my computer properties and is accessable with no problems, but I have to run Add New Hardware every time I boot up.

    Any Ideas Please
    <img src=/S/burnup.gif border=0 alt=burnup width=31 height=31>
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Did you fdisk and format it?
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Carbomb

    Quick answer NO!
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    That's probably why XP keep re-recognizing it.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Carbomb
    Whislt I was waiting for your reply I tried to do fdisk but when I try to select the correct drive to fdisk I get the message wrong parameter set.
    But If I just use the fdisk command without a drive parameter it wants to fdisk the Primary master. In kinda stuck here!!
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Carbonnb

    I managed to fdisk and format the drive but to no avail, but thanks anyway.
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Sorry, I gave you a bit of misleading information.

    fdsik is for dos/Win9x machines. In XP (probably 2K & NT as well) you need to use diskpart from a command prompt and then format.

    However, since you have said that you managed to fdisk and format the drive, but it still deos it, makes me thing that there may be something not quite right in your BIOS.

    Does you BIOS automaticlly detect the new harddrive on boot up? Did you set the BIOS settings correctly for the new HD?

    After that, I'm completely stumped.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Carbonnb

    Firstly I am sorry I got your name wrong, But yes the BIOS shows it as exactly as it is Primary Slave and all the correct settings. Thanks for your help anyway, perhaps there's somebody else looking in who might be able to help.
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Don't worry about the wrong name. I didn't even notice it.

    Not to mention the fact that I've been called a LOT worse <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    I just wish I could have helped. <img src=/S/sorry.gif border=0 alt=sorry width=15 height=15>
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Just for the heck of it, since we had a similar discussion with another user, what brand is this new drive? And, have you perchance tried booting your system with a "DOS" disk to FDISK and format the drive, then see what XP thinks? Come back. Someone here, as I hope you know, will continue to try to help you!

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Carbonnb

    Interesting point! I feel a bit foolish but I have discovered that Windows XP lists a Slave Drive as removeable media and not a hard drive, so I was looking in the wrong section for it, interestingly enough if I run add new Hardware it will show it as Hard Drive as well but as F: and it also shows it as removable media on G:
    There you go!
    Once again thank's for your efforts.
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Bigal

    I have resolved this problem now, but I had a spooky ride. Here's what happend I posted this problem because I could only see one hard drive registered in My Computer, but never noticed that Windows XP shows its as removeable media in this instance G: however if I run add new hardware it will list is a hardrive as F: therefor showing it twice. If I had noticed that it was listed as a removable drive and not a hard drive I would never have posted the problem.
    Spooky Eh
    Thank's for your interest.
    NB when I ran FDISK to Format this drive it was listed as C: in DOS which gave me a bit of a fright at first.
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Well, I'm glad to hear you've gotten it resolved, but are you sure? Commenting on something in your last two posts - I'm not aware that it would be normal behaviour for XP to recognize a hard drive as removable media, unless maybe there's something in the drive's on-board code that fools Windows. Your other point - From DOS, the C: drive is always recognized as the drive with its jumper set to Master, on the Primary IDE connection. Jeez, I hope you didn't FDISK and format your Windows drive! You already said that the additional drive was set to slave, but was it really?

    Of course, if you're satisfied that you fixed it, no further comment is necessary. Good luck.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Hi Big Al

    I have attached a doc to prove XP can register a hard drive a removable storage. The other point is if I had Fdisked my Boot Drive the PC would not have started Yeah.
    As a precaution I had only one folder on the drive and with dir I could tell it was the correct drive even though it was listed as C: Food for thought
    Attached Files Attached Files
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Second Hard Drive (Windows XP Pro)

    Food for thought - you betcha! I hope you didn't think I was being a smart a__ about this.....

    This is very interesting and in my case, has nothing whatsoever to do with Win XP. But I've had an (almost) exact duplicate of the C: thing you got. I have a pretty good Intel motherboard in this computer (SE440BX-2) and I've installed over a dozen of 'em at my former place of employment.. This board has a peculiar tendancy to get the hard drive mapping wrong when you change a drive. Intel never was able to help me figure out what was wrong except to say I should update the BIOS (it already is). This machine has three hard drives and a CD drive. Example: in January, I took out the C: drive, leaving a second and third drive in the machine. I put in an empty, but formatted drive in the primary master position so I could clean-install XP. When I booted with a DOS disk, created from Win98, the BIOS looked OK - all three hard drives were identified correctly. However, when I ran a DIR command as you did, the empty drive showed up as D: and what should have been D: (a data drive) showed up in DOS as if it were the C: drive.

    The only way I ever got things right was to futz around and reset the BIOS to defaults, take out and re-insert the drive a couple of times. Finally, on about the third try, the drives were recognized all correctly, so I went ahead with my XP Pro installation. I've had my fingers crossed ever since. Done plenty of power downs but not had to take out a drive. This same scenario happened to me on about three of the machines I "cared for" at work, so it looks like a problem with that particular MB.

    Well, I'm sure it bears no resemblance to your situation, but I'll keep my fingers crossed for you too!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •